DEV Community

Cover image for 4 Attempts at Packaging Python as an Executable
Cristian Medina
Cristian Medina

Posted on • Originally published at tryexceptpass.org on

4 Attempts at Packaging Python as an Executable

A few years back I researched how to create a single-file executable of a Python application. Back then, the goal was to make a desktop interface that included other files and binaries in one bundle. Using PyInstaller I built a single binary file that could execute across platforms and looked just like any other application.

Fast forward until today and I have a similar need, but a different use case. I want to run Python code inside a Docker container, but the container image cannot require a Python installation.

Instead of blindly repeating what I tried last time, I decided to investigate more alternatives and discuss them here.

Read On ...

Top comments (0)