DEV Community

Maximilian Koch
Maximilian Koch

Posted on

When a relative asks you, 'What you do for work?' What do you say?

"Something with Computers", is that what you say?

I always try to explain what I do, but sometimes realise that I lost them not even half way through.

Since we get closer to Christmas, it is the time where we have these conversations with a lot of relatives who may have not seen you for a while.

How do you explain your job?

Or to make it simpler: Explain me your job, like I'm from a different generation. 😉

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
ferricoxide profile image
Thomas H Jones II

Neither I nor any of my employers has ever really been able to neatly fit what I do in an HR-friendly (let alone "here's what I do, Mom") box. I've always sorta envied people who could explain what it was they did for work (without a lot of hand-waving and qualifier-statements).