DEV Community

Ucok I. L
Ucok I. L

Posted on

Debate about dynamic vs static is pointless

What's great about static type language is that surely anything build upon it have to be typed. Which in many occasion leads to safe and faster development of an application.

When nodejs come into play, shaking the world of backend programming, it it javascript. And the world knows how great javascript doing in the browser. And ideas of having the same language for backend and frontend arose.

Javascript as we know it is very quite flexible in terms of typings. Surely it is designed to be a dynamicly type language. But the complexity of application requirement we develop is also increased, so, dynamicly type language just begin to don't flexible enough for the requirement.

And there's nothing wrong about the language, I should point that , it is our approuch of solving problem, when we identify some new requirement, that surely, we should solved it with new approach.

So the debate about which superior between dynamic and static language is pointless.

Dont get me wrong I love python in my first year of programming becouse it didnt force me to type any variable. But now I surely wanna use pydantic or frameworks with static typing system for big project becouse it save me, from much unnecessary debugging routine.

Some people still able to manage big project without static typing and thats what they should do becouse it is the problem has to be solved, not has to create a new problem.

Academic comparison or spec comparison is necessary for people to pick which match their requirement, not for give superior believers their weapon.

I hope I dont have that many hate here, let's smile and say each other good luck :)

Top comments (0)