DEV Community

Cover image for UCSC Undergrads are Escaping the Loop!
Yashithi Dharmawimala for Mozilla Club of UCSC

Posted on

UCSC Undergrads are Escaping the Loop!

Our youth comes up with many ideas to elevate sustainable development of the country. These ideas have to be brought into light in order to find solutions to combat many issues that we face today. The Mozilla Club of the University of Colombo, School of Computing opened up the door to bring out these innovative ideas by organizing the hackathon “Escape the Loop 2020” for the young enthusiastic undergraduates of the University of Colombo, School of Computing.

What is Escape the loop?

Escape the loop is a part of Hacktoberfest, a global month-long celebration of open source software backed by Digital Ocean, Intel and the Dev Community.

How does it work?

After registering as an individual or as a group at Hacktoberfest, participants can start building their project. They have 4 days until the deadline, which is October 26th, to finish and push their sustainable project to GitHub.
This year's Escape the loop is retro/cyberpunk-themed, so the participants can choose between old school 1980s or the futuristic '2080s' design language.

Winning team/individual, 1st runners up and 2nd runners up will be awarded and all the participants of the competition will be receiving a certificate of participation.

How is it going so far?

The hackathon commenced on the 22nd of October 2020 with an awareness session which motivated many young minds to participate in this competition to bring out their innovative ideas. The deadline for the submission is 11.59 pm on 26th of October.

Until now, the competition has been monumental. Participants are bringing the raddest designs and significant concepts to the table and it keeps on coming.
The competitors shared that they are bringing exciting projects to the table including projects with technologies like Machine Learning integrated into them!
We are eager to see all the innovative projects our undergrads create in order to make the world we live in a better place!

For UCSC Mozilla Club,
Yashithi Dharmawimala, Akila Maithripala, Mohammadhu Faalil, Marita Thushari and Mohammed Ashfaq Ashar.

Top comments (0)