DEV Community

Cover image for into the rabbithole of Vue
UIXKinguin
UIXKinguin

Posted on

into the rabbithole of Vue

So I got around to fiddling with Vue and this is how it went.
First I questioned myself a bit. Why should I use this framework?

Simply put.
Componentization.
...is that a word?

Anywhos! I decided I wanted to make a header component for a resume as it was pretty easy to visualize and separate in my head. First I made sure all of the CSS and HTML code were up to par and wouldn't get messed up because of me adding in Vue.
I added the script in and bam it magically started working. Not really.

First I had to go through and add IDs to the div or ul or whatever elements so that I could reference them in the JS. Next I went through with all of the proper bracket syntax and adding in the Vue Code. You can see my struggles in my codepen here.

Link to Code Monkey Heaven

In all seriousness it's pretty powerful in an age where development speed is taken for granted. You can create components for quite literally anything you can imagine. So flexible you could call it the Simone Biles of frameworks. You can find Vue componenets, create, your own, etc. Its like using legos to build a webpage and its all in all a really powerful tool.

If you want to check out a more detailed explanation of what I did. You can visit my YouTube Channel for more.
UIX Kinguin

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
markokoh profile image
Mark Okoh

"the Simone Biles of frameworks" - Great quote! That'll get them into Vue!