DEV Community

Varun Barad
Varun Barad

Posted on • Originally published at varunbarad.com on

Testing Deep-Link URLs using ADB

ADB is a treasure trove and I regularly keep finding some gem from it. Recently I was working on creating some new deep-link integrations for the company I work at. The below command fires an event similar to one that gets fired when we click on a link in the device itself.

The pattern for command to trigger the deep-link is as below:

adb shell am start -a android.intent.action.VIEW -d "your-link-goes-inside-these-quotes"

Example

adb shell am start -a android.intent.action.VIEW -d "https://varunbarad.com/blog"

This was just a quick ADB tip that I have learnt and wanted to share with you. If you have any more such tips or tricks, I would love to hear about them on twitter thread for this article. Feel free to contact me for anything else that you would like to talk about @varun_barad.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
sovetkali profile image
Bauyrzhan

Thanks! But I have a question. What do you do after first using deeplink? I mean if you execute a next deeplinke after first using adb outputs a message like

"Warning: Activity not started, intent has been delivered to currently running top-most instance."