DEV Community

Vlad
Vlad

Posted on • Updated on

How to create limited-size directory

What an issue I've got

Today I've got a task to test (and fix) how the application behaves during a backup when it does not have a space on the device.
As result, there shouldn't be any new files once the backup is failed with "no space left" error.

How did I investigate the issue

So far, I see the following options for how to reproduce the issue:

  • to have enormous application data to backup, either on some shared machine or generate the content locally
  • to create a limited-size directory and try to write a backup there

First option is time-consuming to reproduce it locally, so let's start with creating limited-size directories.

I have two target environments for testing: Windows 10 and Debian-based Linux.
I've chosen Ubuntu 18.04 because I have the VM already installed.

So, let's make a backup for the newly installed application and check its size.
And empty backup is 8.5Mb. It is suspicious the app has an 8Mb backup from scratch, and I will write it down to fix later, but I have another issue so far.

Windows

I haven't found a way to create a limited-size directory on Windows, but I can create a limited-size virtual disk and use it for my purposes.

  1. Go to Disk management
  2. Select your local disk and choose "Create VHD" in "Action" Create VHD
  3. Choose Virtual Disk file location and set disk size. For my pupose I need 10Mb (8Mb for backup plus some extra for partitions and system information) and I need "Fixed size". Create VHD Wizard
  4. Initialize the new disk (choose Master Boot Record) Initialize disk
  5. Create new simple volume. New colume
  6. Next... Next... Next... and disk is ready Disk is ready

Wow!!! It took almost 7Mb from the original 10Mb for system data. WOW!!!

But... it is enough for my purposes.

Linux

  1. Create file with size you need
touch 10mbarea
➜  truncate -s 10M 10mbarea
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  1. Create file system with the file
➜  mke2fs -t ext4 -F 10mbarea
mke2fs 1.46.5 (30-Dec-2021)
Discarding device blocks: done                            
Creating filesystem with 10240 1k blocks and 2560 inodes
Filesystem UUID: 03249ba7-6abc-4afb-a496-b5857f529859
Superblock backups stored on blocks: 
        8193

Allocating group tables: done                            
Writing inode tables: done                            
Creating journal (1024 blocks): done
Writing superblocks and filesystem accounting information: done
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  1. Create a directory you will use later
mkdir 10mbup
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  1. Mount the file system to the folder
sudo mount 10mbarea 10mbup 
[sudo] password for vbochenin: 
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  1. And limited size directory is ready
df -h 10mbup              
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/loop1      8.3M   14K  7.5M   1% /home/vbochenin/10mbup
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Once limited size directories created, I may specify them as backup target directory and run the same empty backup.

If you find the post helpful, please support me and:
Buy Me A Coffee

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
evlitvin profile image
Evgenii Vladimirovich Litvin

Nice!