DEV Community

Victoria Mutai
Victoria Mutai

Posted on

Developer training Developers!

3 months went by so fast....
I recently started out as an instructor at techtenum for frontend web development.
Weirdly, I never thought of myself as a teacher or trainer. Yes this was my first official gig as a trainer.

My main role was to ensure students learn web development from 0 to 100. The students did not have any knowledge on web dev, they had never interacted with the IDE or even written their first line of code.

Our first class was introduction to the web and it was interesting to see how they yearned to learn more and become experts. We did a bit of UI/UX, an introduction to Version Control then went ahead to learn HTML, CSS and JS. We also introduced the students to webhosting on ghpages and netlify

The program included from theory, practicals and projects. This ensured that the students are able to apply what they learn practicaly and build real life projects.

Some of the projects the students worked on included a personal portfolio, a school website, a calculator, IG clone, EPL table clone(they love football) and two projects of their choice. This projects ensured that whatever they learnt in class was implemented.

My favorite parts of the program included....

  • Lesson Prep: This included coming up with notes for the next class. This made me learn more and more concepts, which I believe has even made me a better developer. For concepts that seemed complex I had to do before hand and hence making me an expert at it.

  • Implementation of JS concepts: This was quite interesting to see the students implement the concepts they didnt think they could use before. Eg creating a responsive navbar using JS.

  • CSS Layouts: I did not make lots of practice on CSS layouts before and after going through the session I felt am ready to go back to CSS and use it all the time. I literally learnt all over again.

  • Project presentation and Reviews: Our mode of reviews involved the students presenting what they worked with and everyone would give feedback on how they felt about it and changes they wanted to see.

  • Debugging: By the end of month one, the students owned the debbuging sessions and it was interesting to see the different approaches they take in bug solving.

Conclusion

> Software development is a commitment to continous learning - Wayne Gakuo

The entire three months was impactful for me! I was both an instructor and learner. I would do this again and again. The satisfaction that come with seeing beginners become experts...
Huge shoutout to the students for taking time to learn and never giving up on the difficult concepts. I can't wait to see what the latest web developers achieve in the next few months and years. Thanks to techtenum for the opportunity to train!

Will I do this again? Yes and even much more better!

Thanks for reading through😊 Adios👋

Top comments (0)