DEV Community

Victor Leung
Victor Leung

Posted on • Originally published at victorleungtw.Medium on

On improving my habits

I would like to improve my habits and get more healthy. There are three aspects of healthiness which includes physical, diet and mental.

First of all, regular exercise is the key to get physical fitness and maintain a good body shape. Every week I regularly go jogging along the river for at least thirty minutes. On the weekends, I would go cycling or swimming instead of staying indoors all day. These exercises help to release dopamine in our brain to regulate our mood and prevent us from getting depression. Sometimes I am getting too busy or too lazy to go out and disrupted my exercise habit. I would need to set a calendar as well as finding a community to keep myself motivated to do exercise.

Secondly, I would need to eat healthy food, such as balance with vegetables and fruits. My body metabolism starts to slow down when getting older, and my body shape would not look good with a big tummy. To lose weight, I would need to control my diet by eating less while burning more calories than my intake. With covid situation, I am work from home and sitting in front of the computer all day long, which consume few calories. I should drink less sugar-heavy soft drink, such as regular coke and ice lemon tea.

Lastly, I would need to get better with my mental health. This includes having a work-life balance and getting a better social circle, such that I would be able to get better emotional support from family and friends. It is important to maintain a good relationship with other people and contribute to the community. This would affect both my happiness level and my meaning of life. I would need to get a habit to expand my network and meeting new people, instead of being shy staying quiet at the corner. I would be able to improve my communication and public speaking skills when I take small steps every day to get better than yesterday.

Overall, having a healthy body and a healthy mind would be a pre-requisite to survive in our world and become a successful person.

Originally published at https://victorleungtw.com.

Top comments (0)