DEV Community

Cover image for Reflecting on My Full Stack Bootcamp Experience
Viktoria Bors-Pajuste
Viktoria Bors-Pajuste

Posted on

Reflecting on My Full Stack Bootcamp Experience

Last year, in January, I started a part-time, online bootcamp to become a full stack developer. I recently completed the program, and I'd like to reflect on my experience, share what I learned, and provide some advice for those considering a bootcamp.

Introduction

I chose the bootcamp because it was affordable and part-time, with a five-hour-per-week mentorship. Although it was a smaller company in Hungary, I decided to enroll because I wasn't sure whether web development was my long-term career path, and I didn't want to spend too much money or time on it.

Bootcamp Structure

The full stack web development program had three modules: HTML/CSS, JavaScript (with NodeJS and MongoDB), and PHP and MySQL. I had two different mentors, and the online classes were two and a half hours, twice a week, except for the last module, which I chose to do for five hours on weekends.

Personal Reflection

I found the weekday classes more beneficial, as I appreciated the day break and the long weekend for practicing. Having five hours of class on the weekend, with my family at home, made it difficult to focus and study. It was also a lot of sitting, and I lacked motivation to practice the next day. The weekdays were already filled with work, so it was hard to organize studying and practice during the last module.

The teaching style mattered a lot to me, and I was lucky to have motivated mentors who gave me the energy to do my best. Due to my determination to be the best, I practiced a lot and worked on side projects, which helped me during my job search.

Struggles and Fears

Initially, I was afraid of organizing my work with the course and studying while having a family. Then, I made a big decision to quit my job and focus 100% on changing my career and transitioning to tech. I feared that I would regret my decision, but having a clear goal to get a job made me stronger and more motivated.

At the beginning of the course, I was worried that I would waste my time as it was just five hours per week, and I was jobless. However, I always found topics to read about, such as a JS book or other videos, and implemented them in small and then bigger projects.

I was afraid of losing motivation, which happened in the last module. By then, I had fallen in love with JS and worked with it every day. Therefore, learning PHP on the weekend was demotivating. However, I came up with a plan to build a project in PHP and Vue Js framework after a few weeks, which helped me stay motivated, and I ended up with an awesome project.

My Advice for Bootcamp Students

Have a clear goal and think about it whenever you feel down. Being a part of the community helps, as you can attend meetups, pair code, and practice together. Being social will help you realize you are not alone in your struggles.

If you lose motivation to practice, find a topic that interests you and build something you want to build.

All in all, I am happy that I made the hard decision to transition to tech. I am happy where I am now and strive to be better every day.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

Love this article. Thank you for sharing!