DEV Community

Cover image for Work - Life - Side Project triangle. Can be balanced ?
Viktoria Bors-Pajuste
Viktoria Bors-Pajuste

Posted on

Work - Life - Side Project triangle. Can be balanced ?

Introduction / My background

I am a junior developer, started to work full time (first dev job). I am proactive and currently working on my own project, hosting a practice class and collaborating in an other project. Moreover I am a mother and wife.

How I suppose to find the balance?

I know, I should just say no to some side gigs. But I am this enthusiastic junior, who sees an opportunity jumps right in…

I know, I am this typical meme below…

Side project meme

“Worst” things, once I start something I must take it to the end. I can’t give up or leave it unfinished.

We will see what future brings and how I will manage all the gigs. But until then I am curious about other’s opinion and advice within the topic.

So How do you find the balance between work-life-other projects?

Feel free to share stories, advice or anything related to it😊

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
dastasoft profile image
dastasoft

First of all, it is important to know that our career is not a sprint, it is more like a marathon, so even if you are very passionate try not to overload yourself with work, but starting a question like the one you asked I think is a good sign that you have already realized this.

The triangle you describe can be increasingly challenging because the term "life" is too broad and you may have other non-coding hobbies that will further complicate this balance.

As for the side project, I can relate to what you describe, I too need to finish projects before starting a new one and this is something that at work is very beneficial because when someone gives you a to-do list or you make that list everyone knows that all things will get done.

In side projects I don't think it's a bad habit either but the trick, at least for me, is to clearly define what "finished" or "completed" means for each project. Try to clearly identify what things are nice to have and what things are core to the side project you are building, this can be difficult at first, but over time it gets easier.

Some overused quotes that can help that mindset:

  • 80% of the results are a consequence of 20% of the causes (Pareto Principle).
  • The last 20% of the work takes 80% of the time.

TLDR; If you keep a good backlog of side projects, finish them one by one focusing on the core of each project by wisely deciding what is included and what is out of scope it will be easier to achieve that balance.

Collapse
 
viktoriabors profile image
Viktoria Bors-Pajuste

Thank you :) It is a good advice, mainly regarding the must and nice-to have part. I also like the idea to define that when the project is finished. I should implement this actually to github too. So me and others can also see that some of the projects are actually done and not "forgotten" or unfinished.

Collapse
 
syntaxseed profile image
SyntaxSeed (Sherri W)

Well said!
There is a tendency to take all that initial excitement & energy & blast off with it. But that can often lead to burn out.

Best to invest in one project that gets you excited & see it through to the end (whatever that means for you). That small win will generate more energy for the next thing.

Lots of unfinished side projects is a big energy drain. It's ok not to finish something, but IMHO it's best to archive it, take it off your mental & actual todo lists & accept it as abandoned so you can let it go. All those "I'll finish someday" projects can be very draining (at least they are for me).

Collapse
 
monish_munagala profile image
Naga Monish Munagala

As a senior (12th grade) in high school right now, I can say that I feel busier than the president. College applications, SAT prep, my main school courses, projects, certifications, coding, designing, etc. It gets overwhelming.

If you really want to focus and get stuff done, find an environment where there are no distractions. Even if its your dog, don't let it distract you! Set up that environment in the way you like it. That way you feel comfortable. For me, I'm kind of a clean freak and love organization but am too lazy for it.

My advice would be to dedicate your day to each work item you have. Depending on the intensity of the project, dedicate a specific amount of time for each task. I've started getting up early so that I have more time throughout my day. Maybe 4 or 5 in the morning is a good time.

Try to first work on your side project in the morning for about 2 hours. Just stay focused. Absolutely no distractions until the 2 hours are up. Then take a 30 - 35 minute break and then do the same for the remaining tasks. Since you are a mother/wife, spend some time with your family, and then spend time on your work.

Keep a to-do list. Reward yourself every time you finish a task. This will help keep you motivated and you'll be able to get more work done and have a lot of free time.

I wish you luck and I hope this helps!

Collapse
 
viktoriabors profile image
Viktoria Bors-Pajuste

Thank you :) I really like the idea to work on my own project in the mornings. I have done it like this during this week. It felt good. I cannot wake up everyday super early, but it can be done a few times per week :)

Collapse
 
brettcodes profile image
Brett Codes

A few thoughts on this:

  • Work on smaller side projects that you can complete and not lose motivation on. It's really important to finish projects.
  • Set aside specific times of the week to work on side projects. Maybe it's every Sunday morning for three hours. Set those boundaries with yourself and anyone else in your life and stick with them.
  • Take breaks from programming in your free time if you feel like you're running out of steam! Programming can be so engrossing, that you could spend your work days and free time doing it, but I think you'll become a better dev by having constraints, focusing during that time, and growing as a person (not just a developer).

It's definitely a challenge though to find and maintain the balance! Try not to lose the drive and inspiration.

Collapse
 
viktoriabors profile image
Viktoria Bors-Pajuste

Thank you for the great response. I believe setting X hours / week just for coding could actually work. Right now I am sitting down in random times. Problem here that sometimes I dont have random times or I get distracted (kiddo wakes up etc). So it is really good idea to arrange some hours just for coding - so my family knows that in these hours I am not at "home".

Collapse
 
syntaxseed profile image
SyntaxSeed (Sherri W)

I was going to write up a long response then realized that it can be boiled down to one point.

Decide your personal priorities first. Does time with your family come before time for side projects? Is your job not a good fit and so time for learning comes before going the extra mile at work? Are side projects a hobby as well or an investment in your career? What comes first, second, third, etc? Don't let outside pressure or societal norms decide these for you.

Once you can outline those priorities clearly, you'll have a framework for deciding how much time to set aside for the different aspects of your life. It becomes easier to be true to yourself.