DEV Community

Ryan
Ryan

Posted on

Favorite IDE for Python?

I used to use Geany, but I've recently switched over to vscode. I really like it, but whats your favorite?

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
acarrascalgarcia profile image
Adrián Carrascal

As IDE I used to use PyCharm, however, I no longer use it due to the memory consumption. Right now I'm getting used to work with Vim (as a simple but powerful text editor), and I've been setting some useful plugins for Python projects.

Collapse
 
xanderyzwich profile image
Corey McCarty

PyCharm is a good full featured IDE for Python. I've also spent equally as much time coding on a text editor and executing Python in command line. Once upon a time I used Gedit with a terminal plugin for the bottom of the window.

Collapse
 
codemouse92 profile image
Jason C. McDonald

I tried to love PyCharm. I really did. But, in the end, it is just too much clutter.

I do adore VSCode for any language, including Python.

I also historically have loved NINJA-IDE, although 2.x is taking forever to be released.

Collapse
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

I use visual studio code, I love the clean interface and the shear amount of extensions.

Collapse
 
visualmov profile image
Ryan

I agree. I'm also a fan of the tasks, which are a LOT easier that setting build commands manually.

Collapse
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

one new feature I love in the latest window release is the open wsl feature, it allows you to open your dev environment in a ubuntu instance without a vm.

Collapse
 
alansolitar profile image
Alan Solitar • Edited

I love VS Code for it's extensibility and vast library of available plugins. It's easy to change your interpreter and set up debugging as well.

I see no reason to exchange VS Code for a big ide like pycharm.

I also do a lot of fullstack development, so being able to quickly switch between python and other languages is a benefit.

Collapse
 
ubtofficial profile image
ubtofficial

I'd recommend CodeRunner if you're on mac. It's a simple and lightweight IDE for python and many more.

Collapse
 
jaloplo profile image
Jaime López

I also used PyCharm in the past but, now, if I need to do something with python I will choose VSCode for sure.