DEV Community

Cover image for That time when I coded a Virtual Voice Assistant
ViswamberPrasad
ViswamberPrasad

Posted on

That time when I coded a Virtual Voice Assistant

That time,when i decided to code a virtual voice assistant as my Python(Intermediate) Capstone Project.
After learning Python for about 2 months,I had this urge to implement everything that I had learnt in one weekend project.
So I coded a virtual voice activated assistant.

The assistant uses NLP for its main functionality.
It scrapes the web for you,opens webpages,tells you the time,temperature,precipitation and date,performs mathematical operations,analyses your sentiment,tells you the corona virus cases recorded,translates your statement to other languages,does wikipedia searches for you and sends email
It also has Wake Word activation(hot word detection).

The code,is definitely not the best.You would find way better codes,for the same exact project,but it gets the job done.
If you find anything cringe-worthy in the article or the code itself,Be Kind,and please let me know!

The code for the project,can be found on my GitHub.

GitHub logo ViswamberPrasad / Virtual-Voice-Assistant

NLP Voice Assistant,coded completely in Python,as my Python(Intermediate)Capstone Project.The hot word detection mechanism of the assistant,has been coded with simple logic,rather than using tools such as SnowBoy. NLTK's Sentiment Analysis has been used,for the emotion analysis of the user.

Virtual-Voice-Assistant

NLP Voice Assistant,coded completely in Python,as my Python(Intermediate)Capstone Project.The hot word detection mechanism of the assistant,has been coded with simple logic,rather than using tools such as SnowBoy. NLTK's Sentiment Analysis has been used,for the emotion analysis of the user.




Top comments (0)