DEV Community

Cover image for How important is typing fast for programmers?
Vicky Sundesha
Vicky Sundesha

Posted on

How important is typing fast for programmers?

I don't mean 100 wpm, maybe something reasonable like 35 - 45 wpm.
I write a lot of documentation so I find it pretty handy to be able to type fast.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
kallmanation profile image
Nathan Kallman

If you are able to type faster than you can think of the code, you are no longer limited by your typing speed...

Let's assume programmers average 50 lines of code a day... if each line averages 80 characters; that programmer needs to be able to type about 9 characters a minute....

Obviously, programmers don't write code that way; it is usually more "bursty" (i.e. nothing written for long periods of time, then short bursts of writing). But I think it's safe to say typing speed is not the limiting factor for most programmers.

That said; since programming is "bursty" I've found the faster I'm able to turn my ideas into code (i.e. the smaller the time my "burst" lasts) equates to more time to come up with new ideas from the code I just wrote and iterate on my program.

Collapse
 
turculaurentiu91 profile image
Turcu Laurentiu

Thats a very good point, however, as a software engineer, you will write more than just code... You will have to write documentation, tickets, comments, pull requests, code reviews, stack overflow questions and answers, slack/teams messages.

And in the modern day, 4 years after your comment, turns out that you will also write and communicate with AI... usually, the more context you can provide, the more helpful it is.

For all the above, fast typing will help a lot. If not for getting them out of the way and get back at our beloved coding :)

Collapse
 
alaindet profile image
Alain D'Ettorre

Almost zero.