DEV Community

Cover image for Tell me, what was your biggest career mistake and what did you learn from it?
Vitor Paladini
Vitor Paladini

Posted on

Tell me, what was your biggest career mistake and what did you learn from it?

Photo by Sebastian Herrmann on Unsplash

Classic interview question, I know! But I have a good feeling that we can learn from each others mistakes, experiences or simply bad luck. πŸ˜„

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
vtrpldn profile image
Vitor Paladini • Edited

I'll start!

Back when I was working at a digital agency here in Rio I helped my boss sell an enormous website that was waaay beyond my project managing skills. It was a WordPress multisite with around 15 standalone sites sharing theme and some business logic, but the requirements where just too many...

My team did great job and we did indeed get the project up and running after a couple of delays and a particularly stressful overnight release. But that was easily the most stressed and anxious I have ever been in my career.

I failed on scoping that project correctly and paid with a significant share of my mental health at the time. But well, lesson learned, and you won't catch me overestimating my own delivery capacity anytime soon. πŸ˜„