DEV Community

Cover image for On How to quit Vim
Hải
Hải

Posted on

On How to quit Vim

Oh no, not that kind quitting, Stack Overflow has help with that.

It's time to move on to NeoVim. I myself has procrastinated on moving for so long because of my habit of typing vi file.txt.

Let's make it happens. Here an snippet to get it going.

# How to quit vim?
export EDITOR='nvim'
alias v='nvim'
alias vi='nvim'
alias vim='nvim'

What's your opinions? Leave or stay?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
csgeek profile image
csgeek

I remember reading about on neovim, and it was mainly to see some better plugin dev tools. What things people do with vimscripts is amazing but I'd love to have more native support for py and ruby.

The API supported plugins is really nice idea.

Collapse
 
teodev1611 profile image
Teo

A simple nnoremap?


vim
nnoremap <leader>q :q<CR>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode