DEV Community

MUSA ABDUL-WADUD
MUSA ABDUL-WADUD

Posted on

OUTREACHY INTERNSHIP WITH MBOALAB

Are you new to programming and having challenges breaking in into the Tech Industry, Outreachy internship might help with that; Outreachy provides internships with open source and open science to people subject to systemic bias and impacted by underrepresentation in technical industry where they are living for free.

Thinking you would be working for free, Nope you get paid a total sum of $7000 during the 3month internship. read more

I was selected as an intern in the December 2022 internship round. During the Contribution stage I contributed to two open source communities ODK-X and MBOALAB. I was selected as an intern with MBOALAB ๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰.

MboaLab is an open and collaborative space located in Yaoundรฉ, Cameroon. The aim of MboaLab is to catalyse sustainable local development and improve peopleโ€™s living conditions through open science. MBOALAB

MboaLab is an open and collaborative space located in the village of Mefou-Assi, Yaoundรฉ, Cameroon. The word โ€œMboaโ€ has different meanings in native Cameroonian languages: in Matakam, it means โ€œnewโ€; in Ewondo, it means โ€œuniqueโ€; in Duala, it means โ€œvillageโ€. Literally translated, MboaLab is a unifying village dedicated to creation; even better, it is a laboratory for social innovation, community education, collaboration and mediation at the service of the community.

The Project I was selected for needs a combination of android development and machine learning skillset, Building a digital stethoscope android application. I am very passionate about Machine learning and had keen interest in it, To achieve the goal of the internship, I had to pick up so machine learning resources to build a model that predicts common heart diseases and state of the heart based on the heartbeat sound gotten from their android device.

A team of 3 interns and 2 mentors, started off the journey by viewing sample applications and products, Deliberated on how to build a product that is adaptable and affordable for common African man. The first two weeks I was tasked with researching about the model. Fun thing about software development; ask and you shall be directed, I asked a lot of questions which aided in my research also dedicated time to learning new skills
I got sample recorded heartbeats from kaggle, looked into learning pytorch to develop the model.

I would drop my pen here, and pick up later but I am currently enjoying open source, my journey into #MEDTECH and also happy to meet new people and ideas.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
zainabik profile image
Zainab Ashimiyu-Abdusalam

Once again, clap for yourself