DEV Community

Walterion
Walterion

Posted on

How to Open BIG JSON files

Why

JSON is the most used format to store data, and until now, there were only text editors to handle it, and they are not the real proper solution as they will quickly lose effect and speed as the file size grows.

Whenever I was working with a new JSON-Based format, a DB dump or download an export, I faced this issue again. I couldn't open them properly, or if I could, I couldn't search in it or export a sub node. So one day, I chose to make my own.

How

The main trick is to build a tool that views the JSON as JSON, not a text. I mean look how object and array form the result.
Then we need a new fast JSON parser that works in SAX. Luckily I know the best one written in FreePascal.
I couldn't store the tree and index much as it gets a lot of memory for a big file (eg, 1GB) so I review each node when I need it. All the same, done for export and search too, and that was another challenge to beat!

Result

It beats all of the other solutions in performance, and it will give you a complete set of tools to work too. Tree highlighted view, Instant search including RegEx support, auto-refresh on file change and many export options including XML is just a part of its features.

Lets compare it:

  • 10X faster than VSCode in launch
  • 9X less RAM usage than Sublime
  • 21X faster than NPP++ in search

More

So this the FASTEST JSON viewer I ever saw. Do you know something faster? Let me know.
Take a look at it and let me know if you want to know more.
It is Free and available for download for Mac and Windows right now, and Linux version is on the way.
https://viewer.dadroit.com

Top comments (0)