DEV Community

Cover image for I spoke at vim conf
Waylon Walker
Waylon Walker

Posted on

I spoke at vim conf

I gave a talk about my workflow at vim conf and how vim works into my workflow as a team lead for an analytics team. Nerves were high, palms were sweaty, I spoke way too fast, wasn't sure what to do with myself when the talk was done, but overall it was well recieved. It's now live on youtube, you can see it here.

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
irreverentmike profile image
Mike Bifulco

I heard people are still stuck at vim conf because nobody can figure out how to exit... fozzie-bear.gif

Jokes aside, this is a really interesting talk! Having just spent some time learning how to speed up VS Code, your point is absolutely valid. If you're able, learning to work out of VIM can be far, far speedier than a typical IDE.

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

maybe I am less patient these days, but I really feel like vscode took a downturn in perf in 2020 while I was still using it. Even fresh installs with minimal plugins did not feel the same as they did in 2018.

Absolutely no shame to anyone using VSCode whatsovever, I always promote do what makes you most productive over what someone else wants you to believe.

In my journey to get back to vim as my main editor, I found that I was able to get all the features I got from vscode and more. Being right in the terminal it does feel a bit easier to hack on and get to do things you need it to do for your workflow.

It's also valid that it takes hours to get vim how you like it, and anyone just st]ting can simply start coding much quicker in vscode.

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

no one can find the door, we have all been stuck here since.

Collapse
 
djamaile profile image
Djamaile

What tool are you using for a presentation within your terminal?

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

I've been using lookatme (pip install lookatme), I use Telegraph.nvim to open markdown files in a tmux split with a single hotkey.

Collapse
 
djamaile profile image
Djamaile

Do you have a repo where you have your slides in?

Thread Thread
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

I have them as a post on my blog, adding .md to the end of any post will pull up the raw markdown.

waylonwalker.com/nvim-ides-are-slo...