DEV Community

Jesse M. Holmes
Jesse M. Holmes

Posted on

Who is using a PinePhone?

I just paid off my iPhones. I'm used to being a few generations behind, and my relatively young iPhone X is going strong. I've been an iPhone user since the 3G, and I've never really considered making a change.

I came across something interesting on a Twitch stream last week, the PinePhone. From what I learned, it's a smart phone running on slightly dated hardware and a Linux operating system. Also, it's $119, just a few bucks shy of the $1,200 iPhone I would be upgrading to.

There are inexpensive components in the store to allow you to upgrade and configure as you like, and there is even a smart watch. I am intrigued to say the least.

So … have any of you fine people grabbed one of these? The searchbar says no one is talking about it, to say the least.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
manland profile image
Romain Maneschi

My pinephone will come in a week or two. But I already have a nexus5 running ubtouch os.

There are lot of Linux OS like sailfish, postmarked... And my preferred ubtouch.

The big problem is apps, you will not found native Twitter, spotify or WhatsApp!

Creators of OS based on Linux have 2 choices today:

  • Libertine: emulate a desktop environment to run native Linux apps... But have you try to run Thunderbird in phone view? UI and UX are very bad
  • Anbox: emulate Android environnement... But lot of hardware drivers need lot of work...

Or of course a solid community to develop all this app. It's a big challenge and everyone is welcome!

In other hand I have a terminal to control my phone (yes a "top" give me launched apps). I have ssh by default, VPN and all I love in Linux

Please fill free to ask anything! It's a world lot of us should discover asap to become a reality 😉

Collapse
 
fennecdjay profile image
Jérémie Astor

A smart phone running (mainline) Linux!!!
I suppose there are other projects out there (I meet years ago in guy from mozilla working on some OS for smart phone), but anyway I'd love to see more of that in peoples hands.

Collapse
 
iceorfiresite profile image
Ice or Fire

Does it have any apps? That's what makes or breaks a phone.

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

I'm not sure what the offerings are just yet. It looks like I'm going to have to get one and write the first post. lol