DEV Community

Eric Ahnell
Eric Ahnell

Posted on

When related projects develop synergy, both advance faster

Building upon the first post in this series, about getting over the hump... now that I have a better idea of what I'm doing, it occurred to me that, since I am making 2 games simultaneously with the new engine - LaserTank Improved and Fantastle Reboot - advancements made in one game potentially benefit the other game too. Nowhere is this more apparent than this pair of commits - the two projects end up sharing most of their code, as well as all 16 dependencies, afterwards.

I fully expect this trend to continue as both games develop further and establish their own unique identities, since plenty of common functionality will exist. Why reinvent the wheel every time if you don't have to?

Top comments (0)