DEV Community

x-ghaith
x-ghaith

Posted on

Front-end confusion :((

Guys I’ve been really struggling in my frontend journey because of my weaknesses in css and the styling and how I always new I hate css and don’t have the design logic not forgetting to mention that I struggle to do something in react , I am asking you what the possible solutions are the overcome this obstacle and be a decent frontend because I really like java script as a programming language , I love playing with data and can’t wait for backend section but at least I want to solve the problem I already mentioned so it doesn’t stick with me for life and thanks in advance waiting for your crash solutions and suggestions .

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
tutrinh profile image
Tu Trinh

Start with something small like creating a rounded button with paddings and margins. Then create 2 buttons, cancel and submit. Learn ids, and classes then move on to pseudo classes. After that move on to layouts using flex and grids. Basically learn, apply and repeat.

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Don't give up my friend, you got this!!!

Whether it's CSS syntax or the designing itself, they're all skills we develop over time with practice and dedication :D we've all been exactly where you are right now and it can be discouraging but you got this I believe in you!

No need to rush into concepts or technologies, take your time learning the fundamentals and building a strong foundation and like I said just keep practicing, practicing, practicing and it'll all get clearer with time.

If CSS is your primary struggle then maybe slow down a bit and spend some time really honing your understanding of it - a lot of what you learn there will transfer over into everything else you learn moving forward

Best of luck!

Collapse
 
csjcode profile image
CSJcode

I feel your pain... my advice

  1. Think in small tasks, small steps. Break down multistep tasks. Make a checklist before coding of what needs to be done. You will know some parts and not others, research those before coding. It's better to have anticipated obstacles than unanticipated.
  2. Keep a file of small code snippets that do small but useful tasks easily. For example, some flexbox snippets that do different types of layouts. Some components/hooks that toggle and submit forms with different inputs or fetching APIs. As you keep moving forward this library will get bigger and you'll eventually have more complex ones.
  3. Think in term of templating everything, and not memorizing. Have cheatsheets and code completion tools with your editor. Look up about what's out there. You don't want to have to keep remembering every CSS rule. 75% of frontend work is basic patterns and best practices repeated over and over again.