DEV Community

Yuki
Yuki

Posted on • Updated on

Is there anyone who is interested in a Chat based meetup project?

!!!!UPDATE!!!!

I have moved the project to an organization account and it can be found here

I have started adding instructions in the readme and issues.

If you have any questions/suggestions, please comment in the room below. Thank you!

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi There!

Thank you for visiting! My name is Yuki and I'm a software engineer in Tokyo, Japan 🍙

I just started a chat app project solo recently to have fun and improve my skillset especially in React.js.

I'm posting this to ask if there is anyone who is interested in this project since I'm sure that this project would be more fun if I could work on this as a group rather than solo 😿

This app is build using React/Redux and Firebase for now and it looks like as attached below (I know it's super ugly at this moment 😓)

Working app and Github repo are here:

When I went over posts in Craislist and that type of boards to get some ideas for my side project, I saw many postings to get struggling to get enough members to start an event. Also in Meetup, there are a few meetups which have difficulties to have enough members and complain about members not showing at events.

Base on those facts, I have been thinking to make a platform where people can know each other casually before they meet.

That's how I stared this project.

Currently, I'm trying to implement group chat rooms so that group members can chat and know each other. In addition to that, of course members can discuss about the group topic and plan a meeting if they want.

After that, I'm thinking to implement functionality to create a meeting event from that associated group (hopefully by implementing chatbot or something like that to create a event from the chatroom).

I just started this project a few weeks ago and this idea is still vague and can be altered in the course of development.

If there is anyone who is interested in this project, please let me know!!

Thank you so much for your time and I'm looking forward to hearing from you 😻

Thanks,
Yuki

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
ajmaln profile image
Ajmal Noushad

Interested

Collapse
 
ychino profile image
Yuki • Edited

Hi Ajmal!

Would you be able to join this project?

Collapse
 
ajmaln profile image
Ajmal Noushad

I have some experience in ReactJS. I hope I can help.

Thread Thread
 
ychino profile image
Yuki • Edited

Thanks! I will add some issue on the Github repo and let you know. Also you are very welcome to create a pull request or any suggestion to improve the app.

I'm going to add a dev chat room in the app so that we can discuss what we implement into the app and anything. I just started this about in 1 week ago so sorry that it's not ready.

Anyways, I will add some issues soon :)

Also, would you mind following me to use chat tool in this app? It seems only mutually followed members can use it.

Thread Thread
 
ajmaln profile image
Ajmal Noushad

Followed 😊

Collapse
 
ychino profile image
Yuki

Hi Guys,

Thank you so much for your interest!!

I have updated the readme to add a quick instruction to get started -

Also I created a dev chat room here

Would you please login the app and say hi in the room for brainstorming and for me to give you access to the firebase?
If you are not comfortable to login the app, please just let me know. I will find another way to give you the access.

Again, thank you for your interest to this project 🙏

Collapse
 
iamjoross profile image
Jose Ross Barredo

Is it ok to join even if you have a little background of the technologies mentioned?

Collapse
 
ychino profile image
Yuki

Of course. Learning new skills is one of the proposes of this project 👍

Collapse
 
jramey profile image
Jordan Ramey

I would help out!

Collapse
 
mornjtech profile image
Fred Odihirin

I'm interested. I know a bit of React and Nodejs.

Collapse
 
harshitsilly profile image
harshit

Hi, i can help you with the chatbot integration and all the nlp task if needed.

Collapse
 
inizio profile image
IniZio

Maybe can have an issue for brainstorming, i am interested in joining if the project direction is unique

Collapse
 
sethusenthil profile image
Sethu Senthil

I'm in! I know some React, Node & Flutter if that helps :)

Collapse
 
mattysmith9 profile image
Matty Smith

I would be interested. I am about to finish up a boot camp program and my team is using React for the final project. Would love to continue learning and help out.

Collapse
 
abdeladimsaouiss profile image
Abdeladim Saouiss

I would like to participate in this project, I'm very good in JavaScript and just start using ReactJs a couple of Months ago, I'm also very experienced in UI/UX and HTML/CSS.
I'm really interested.