DEV Community

Cover image for Web thoughts
Yoav Mendelson
Yoav Mendelson

Posted on • Updated on

Web thoughts

Here are some topics that I found myself thinking about regularly.

Influencing Hunt:

I guess this topic is not bound just to the software development world, but still a one I think about everyday.

If you would open my LinkedIn feed you’ll see a never-ending posts of people typing to impress with generic career stories and mediocre solutions to problems that have been solved for years.
It might be a good way to boost up your network, I’ll give you that, but at the same time it decrease that same person credibility (for me at least).

I do encourage people to write and share ideas that worth spreading, however, there is fine line between an article that was written for likes, and a one written from a genuine will to share. In today’s day and age, people notice whenever people acting out. So if you don’t care about what you're writing, i’ll know, and so are many others.

HTML / Less JS trend:

The JavaScript eco system as been growing rapidly, it’s hard to keep track of all the new changes.
In the last year, there is new direction that increasingly growing - and that is HTML, or in other words - less JavaScript. It just makes sense, the number one reason for slow reload time and bad performance is the amount of JavaScript we ship to the browser.

The web development world has notice that problem and came up with new solutions: Astro build, Qwik and Partytown, just to name a few.. all found new ways to deal with unnecessary JavaScript that just sit there while you read a shitty blog post about the “5 facts that you won’t believe about JavaScript“.

This is not a new concept, however, we just now start to feel this mindset of “ship less JS”, And for all the people that say “html is not a real programming language” I say: “maybe but it’s all you need”.

most of the world hasn’t adopt these technologies yet, as they are still new. But they are amazing to say least and Im excited to see their effects on the future.

React nation:

Full disclaimer, I’m not using react regularly, I’v been using Vue pretty must since the beginning and find it absolutely fine. One thing I’v notice about react, is the amount of “buzz” it gets. React can fart and whole web would shake a little bit. Because of it popularity react can simultaneously be most hated framework, sorry, library and the most loved one.

This of course comes with plenty of “Hot takes” and debates about whether or not react is doing a good job. The fact is, that React is in the summit, and even though it’s overlay complex at times, it keep most devs happy, plus it got the coolest logo.

At one point I even consider switching to react for my side projects until I realized, there is no good reason to. And I’m happy I didn’t because Vue is pretty awesome too.

Having a Vue developer like myself this engaged with a framework, sorry, library that’s not even mine is a task worth acknowledging, i envy the richness and the overall vibe the react eco system brings.

Summary

It’s my first time blogging, and I find it pretty fun. This post might not bring any new information to the average developer, it was merely a presentation of the web as I see it.

Top comments (0)