DEV Community

Bret
Bret

Posted on

IntelliJ iDea Ultimate vs PyCharm..... which is better for what?

I’m getting started with Python/Django and I’ve started in on creating a project.
I’ve been using Vue/React for a while. Python is reminding me a little bit of JavaScript (the syntax) and it’s really clicked so far.
I’m learning more about modules,

Are they basically how JavaScript is with booleans, functions, lists, ect???

Between PyCharm and IntelliJ,
Which is better for what?

Top comments (13)

Collapse
 
eljayadobe profile image
Eljay-Adobe

For Python, I'd use (and I do use) PyCharm. It's a great environment for Python.

For Java, I'd use IntelliJ or Eclipse. I like them both. (I'm a big Jetbrains fan, but I also like Eclipse.) I'm not doing Java development these days, so I don't use either.

For desktop development, it depends on the platform. For Windows, I'd probably select C# and use Visual Studio; but I'd be strongly tempted to use F# instead. For Macintosh, I'd use Swift and Xcode. For Linux, I'm not sure what's the preferred language on Linux these days by the in-crowd — I use C++ on Linux.

Collapse
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

Great! What is a stable demand in what?, what language is the most stable, also.... as far as a “beginner”, which language abs entry position is “embracing beginner as”? Or, people who are motivated to learn?

Collapse
 
eljayadobe profile image
Eljay-Adobe

For beginners, my recommendation is Python, and has been for years. (When I was a young whippersnapper, I learned with HP 2000 BASIC. But I do not recommend BASIC.)

The top 50 languages on the TIOBE index are stable and in demand languages, so have value to learn as a career skill.

Learning a lot of programming languages is not for most software engineers. I like to learn languages, and I've been enthusiastic about how fun it is to compare and contrast languages and their strengths and shortcomings. Because I am a bear of very little brain it took me a long time to figure out that most developers are not interested whatsoever in being programming language polyglots.

Thread Thread
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

I’m eyeing swift, but I don’t like how it’s really just Apple using it. So, I’m eye java. As far as, it’s kinda like “pick a language and be really good at it”, I’m liking Vue and React, but I don’t like how “custom” front end is and a button, color, box, ect.... can be anything.

Thread Thread
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

Is Java a daily stable/needed?

Thread Thread
 
eljayadobe profile image
Eljay-Adobe

Java is a fine language, it is very mature (so it is very stable). If you know Java you can get a job using Java. Java is the frontrunner language for Android devices and is well placed as an enterprise language used for enterprise services and for writing line-of-business frontends (the backend being a corporate database).

I was a bit skeptical about Oracle being a good steward of the language, but my colleagues who program in Java have praised Oracle at being a good steward.

Thread Thread
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

Nice 👍, the one thing that kinda makes me question it, is android uses it, and they have allot of bugs. So, is Java good? I keep having a reference to C Sharp, but Im not sure about it. It kinda seems less visual or response back in a way

Thread Thread
 
eljayadobe profile image
Eljay-Adobe

I've programmed extensively in both Java and C#, over two years in each as a full time developer. They are very similar languages in many respects, I think they are comparable.

Inherently, neither Android nor Java are "bug laden". Developers can write bugs in any programming language; all programming languages are equally capable (culpable?) of expressing bugs.

A discussion about which languages are more bug prone will be highly opinionated. Based on my experience, both Java and C# are languages that are slighter better at avoiding bugs, compared to (say) C++ or JavaScript.

Collapse
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

Ok, is JAVA something to be familiar with?

 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

I like Vue and React. I’ve been focusing on python because it seems more, narrowed down, with what your doing. HTML/css can be anything... JavaScript is better narrowed down but still there a bit of code to go through writhing. But python seems more “categorized” to what there is on a project

Collapse
 
jamesmcguigan profile image
James McGuigan

IntelliJ is their polyglot editor that supports most languages (except C). PyCharm is a stripped down version of IntelliJ with only the python plugins enabled and a slightly simplified interface. Otherwise, they are the same editor. New python features get developed first in PyCharm, then ported to IntelliJ as a plugin after a short delay.

 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

Ok, so something like Kivy for GUI, would be good for a desktop application?

How often do you make desktop apps vs web?

Thank you!

Collapse
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

If IntelliJ Idea is for Java... why does it show up for JavaScript?