DEV Community

Cover image for How I became a Software Engineer without a Degree
Yogesh Choudhary Paliyal
Yogesh Choudhary Paliyal

Posted on • Originally published at yogeshpaliyal.com

How I became a Software Engineer without a Degree

I had never thought that I would come this far. Since childhood, this was my only goal to write code as a profession. Initially, no one was there to guide me and show me the right way to achieve my goals. But my friends and brothers supported and encouraged me that I can make my career in this field.

How it started

I started to learn about the basics of websites and how I can create my website.

My first website was on wapka.mobi(now shut down), this platform gave the option to create websites without writing the actual code.

Later on, I wanted to learn more about creating websites from scratch, so I started exploring the basics of FTP, shared servers, HTML, CSS, and PHP.

I learned the basics of these languages by trying and building a few basic websites.

2014 - April 2016 (Highschool)

In high school, I opted-in for Biology mainly because my father is a lab technician and he wanted to see me as a doctor; and also I was not interested in Maths.

I learnt HTML, CSS, VBS, and ASP in depth in school and got to know how things work internally. also built a few websites in PHP.

June 2016 (Medical Entrance preparation)

There are only a few options available after high school for biology students - graduation or preparing for medical entrance.

So I went ahead for Medical Entrance preparation, but deep down I knew that this was not my cup of tea. Meanwhile, I continued to learn and explore PHP and other technical things side by side.

June 2017 (Android Development coaching)

As expected, I didn't performed well in the medical entrance.

My brother encouraged me to follow my passion, So I decided to take a 3-month course for Android Development (without prior knowledge of Java or Kotlin) during my summer vacations.

I bought my first android mobile. Till here I learnt and implemented everything on Nokia keypad mobiles (X2-01 & 114).

Later I got admission into a distance learning college to pursue BCA. I have seen many developers with degrees doing the same work which I was doing, then what was the need for a degree? So I decided to drop out of college in 2021.

During those 3 months of Android training, I learnt the basics of Android and Kotlin. The coaching institute offered me an internship after the course completion. This was my happiest moment because I was getting closer to my dream job.

Then I went for a JAVA course to get a better understanding of Android. The colleagues were super helpful and they taught me how things work internally. Special Thanks, Sachin Rupani & Suraj Vaishnav for helping out.

2018 - Present (Real professional journey started)

I wanted to validate my knowledge so I went ahead and cleared the Associate Android Developer Certificate.

In these 4 years, I worked on many technologies like Android, Flutter, React Native, iOS and Angular and helped other developers too.

After working for 4 years as Android Developer in Jodhpur, I felt like I am stuck in a comfort zone and not growing and learning new things.

So I decided to switch job and began job hunting. I talked to a lot of my developer friends who are working in different companies to have a better understanding of big organisations work. These long discussions usually included what's new in Android and how to prepare for interviews.

I gave around 28 interviews, some of them went really well and some of them didn't.

A few companies rejected me because not having a degree, but many did not care about the degree. and then after 2 months of job hunting, I finally got a job offer from Flipkart, which gave me immense happiness and made me even more confident in this field.

I come from a small town with not have a lot of guidance to follow their passion and fulfill your dreams. I think I have broken this misconception about getting into a big organisation without having any degree, This is already encouraging many youngsters from my surrounding to go ahead and follow their passion.

I've come a long way but still have miles to go.

Special thanks to all the blogs and Open-Source projects for helping me in my journey.

Thank you, everyone. ♥️

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
matek075 profile image
Matek

So a motivating story for beginners.
Remember never give up

Collapse
 
supershadow38 profile image
Fabio Ávila

That's cool men, congrats in your new job!! :))

Collapse
 
yogeshpaliyal profile image
Yogesh Choudhary Paliyal

Thanks man

Collapse
 
josephchan7939 profile image
Joseph Chan

awesome,bro,congrats!

Collapse
 
yogeshpaliyal profile image
Yogesh Choudhary Paliyal

Thanks bro

Collapse
 
julfcur profile image
Julieta

Hey! To apply for IT/Tech positions, I leave you the referral link to Outdefine, our job board with several remote job searches open for IT or Tech profiles with different levels of seniority in different areas (marketing/software/development, UX and +), in case anyone is interested or knows someone with a tech profile who needs a job: outdefine.com/r/JulietaCura-4363
You can find many jobs for technical and not so technical, but digital profiles too. And you can also get rewards in tokens on the platform, connect with our community of professionals and companies in the Community section, and it's free to use, of course!