DEV Community

Cover image for 💲 How much is a website ??
Youssef Rabei
Youssef Rabei

Posted on

💲 How much is a website ??

TL;DR I Want to know how to estimate a price for my websites from simple HTML sites to Complex sites (blog, e-commerce, etc...)

This is my first paid website.
It's still finishing it (so be gentle).


What I used to build it

What are the Pages/Features (It's a simple website)

  • The Main Home page (dah)
  • A Gallary with up to 25,000 images (Updateable using Contentful)
  • A 3D CV page with up to 25,000 (minus the above images) (Updateable using Contentful)
  • A Static About page
  • And it's responsive (Like if there is a 2020 web isn't)
  • 404 Page (Work in progress)

I will add in the future

  • A detailed page for every image in the gallery (and probably I will host the images separately with Cloudinary)
  • simple profile so users can comment on the images and rate it and like it etc...
  • Blog using Contentful

So how much should this website now and after the new features cost

And how to estimate my future website or my old personal websites

I searched online and found a couple of blog posts BUT I think it was super expensive
And I found these websites that ask some questions like how many pages does it have cms or a blog and how is the design, etc... and then give you a price and I liked it but I didn't believe it that I can make websites that value these numbers
I will be so happy if these numbers were true because I'm 16 and I can have these numbers
I always loved programming not because of the money I can make I didn't even know how much until now I loved it because the creativity and the problem solving and all this fun stuff not money so that is why I'm a little surprised


Cover credit: Photo by neonbrand on Unsplash


Thanks for reading

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
badpractice profile image
Bad Practice

I've been doing social network projects, and lately I've switched up on my use cases.

  • For front-end, I've started running React through CloudFlare workers. At $5, using their CDN makes all the more sense if I'm trying to have the site reach users across the globe.
  • For back-end, DigitalOcean's Droplet is where I build my servers, minimum $10 since I'm doing PHP and composer hates 1GB RAM. As a developer, I like how easy it is to start from scratch with them on top of networking configurations.
  • For the database, I'm using DigitalOcean's Managed Database (PostgreSQL 12). Starting at $15. They're pretty reliable and flexible.

All-in-all, CF and DO are my gotos for running all of my projects. Cheap, fast, reliable.