DEV Community

Cover image for I made my first game solo with Godot for a Game jam
🦁 Yvonnick FRIN
🦁 Yvonnick FRIN

Posted on

I made my first game solo with Godot for a Game jam

Hey 👋 During my holidays, I participated to a gamejam. The theme was aberration 👻

Here is my submission https://itch.io/jam/acerola-jam-0/rate/2582646. It is an action-adventure game based on a short novel by Grant Allen (19th century).

Feel free to rate and leave a comment 🤗

I open sourced the code and assets: https://github.com/frinyvonnick/pallinghurst-barrow

It was a cool experience. I had the opportunity to give a try to Procreate Dreams for the animations. It was my first time making a game with Godot. It is an easy-to-learn engine. I recommend it! In the past, I participated to a game jam with a mate. This time it was solo since it is the main rule of the jam. It lasted two weeks which was really intensive for me. I did most of the assets by myself except for audio. I don't know much about it.

I recommend participating to jams. It forces you to make choices and goes straight to the point (which I struggle with most of the time)!

You can contact me on Twitter @YvonnickFrin!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
archie_lc profile image
Archie

Why don't you attach a YouTube video of it 🤩, and add links to your socials so people could reach out to you

Collapse
 
yvonnickfrin profile image
🦁 Yvonnick FRIN

Thanks for the idea! I'll edit the post with my socials 😊