DEV Community

Cover image for If you could turn back time... if you could find a way!
Zachary Stone
Zachary Stone

Posted on

If you could turn back time... if you could find a way!

If you could go back to when you first were learning software development, what advice or warnings would you give yourself?

I would tell myself the following:

  • Don't get caught up in new technologies or buzzwords.
  • I would encourage myself to learn JavaScript really well, and HTML and CSS.
  • I would encourage myself to build the sites and projects I wanted to do, but made up excuses for.
  • I would tell myself not to measure my value based on others who had more experience than me.
  • I would remind myself that although it's not about the money I need to press for being paid what I am worth and not under sell myself.
  • I would be more picky at what jobs I took.
  • I would assure myself that I was a fake, and if I continue to work hard I will be a valuable asset.

What about you?

Top comments (0)