DEV Community

Cover image for I made a reverse job board for developers
Zain Butt
Zain Butt

Posted on

I made a reverse job board for developers

Hey everyone,

I am Zain, an indiehacker from Pakistan.

I was laid off from my job last year and was frustrated to find another job. I applied on several jobs on dozens of job boards only to be ghosted or rejected.

This experience made me realise how much time and energy it takes, how many times we need to write the cover letters and manually add our details every time even when we upload our resume, so I decided to change this.


That's why I built devtree, where you are in control. For this project I used what I know the best, Ruby on Rails and took a chance to learn Hotwire and tailwindCSS and let me tell you its been worth it. On top of tailwind I used daisyUI to get component based classes.

I bootstrapped my startup so cost savings is fundamental, I relied on heroku's free tier but that was not an option since they moved to paid only plans. So, I searched for an alternative and found fly.io.

I run three instances their which includes my web app, background worker and database all for free.


The app allows the developers to choose a username, add projects/links, build a testimonial page, add skills, work preferences and personal details. Using this data they can create a portfolio or proof of work site which is easily shareable using their usernames as it contains all their work in one place.

zain devtree profile

If you are a developer and tired of applying to every other job and still getting no results, head on to devtree.


I will write more about technical stuff in separate posts about different design decisions and integrations. So, stay tuned.

πŸ‘‰πŸ» check the app here: devtree
πŸ‘‰πŸ» you can find me here: devtree/zain

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Nice, this is such a cool scratch-your-own-itch sorta project and it looks like a dope app! Good stuff, Zain.

Collapse
 
zainbutt profile image
Zain Butt

It started that way, now I am trying to solve other devs problems.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Totally makes sense and cool that you were able to evolve it into an app that others can join and make use of too. The design looks really nice btw!

Collapse
 
karim_abdallah profile image
Karim Abdallah

Awesome Website, Thanks
my profile: devtree.app/karim

Collapse
 
zainbutt profile image
Zain Butt

Looking awesome @karim_abdallah, make sure to add projects and ask for testimonials from your colleagues and clients.