DEV Community

Cover image for Realtime Pathtracer Research
Zevan Rosser
Zevan Rosser

Posted on

Realtime Pathtracer Research

"Path tracing is a computer graphics Monte Carlo method of rendering images of three-dimensional scenes such that the global illumination is faithful to reality."
from wikipedia

For a long time I've wanted to learn more about pathtracers. I finally got around to it a few months ago and the result of my investigation was a fork of Evan Wallace's Pathtracer with a few new features and shapes - some of which I learned from Erich Loftis’s Three.js PathTracing Renderer

Demo...
shotz

Another Demo...
shotz

Been wanting to get back to this and do optimizations and boolean shapes - but so far I haven't gotten around to it.

Here are a few more screenshots from various permutations and experiments...

shotz

shotz

shotz

Working on this stuff brought back memories of waiting 15 hours for KPT Bryce to render 3D landscapes...

still have a copy running on my 2018 macbook pro ;)
shotz

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
thobyv profile image
Thoby V ijishakin

This is awesome. I think Ray tracing is quiet useful in 3D world to achieve more levels of realism. Having this on the web is a great step forward.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I just caught wind of these concepts from this lovely video/book promo:

Collapse
 
zevanrosser profile image
Zevan Rosser

wow haven't seen that - great video :D - going to check out the book...

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Fun timing. I wouldn’t have had any idea otherwise.