DEV Community

00babe9
00babe9

Posted on

How to power up skills if it feels like "OUT OF MARKET"?

I wonder if I can do something better with this question. How can I answer it? I'm struggle. I feel like i'm out of market, because my current skills are irrelevant. How do I gain motivation?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I'd guess that some skills feel a bit more out of market than they are because new things inherently get more attention. But the attention an area gets does not always align with the actual popularity. People just don't have much more to say about the legacy stuff.

Most of the "new" are just old things repackaged for new situations, so your current skills are probably not all that far from the new hotness.

What is your experience in?

Collapse
 
00babe9 profile image
00babe9

I still growing my experience in retail systems such as integration web services or business logic or domain problems.

Collapse
 
00babe9 profile image
00babe9

By the any means - thanks for advice.