DEV Community

Abbi_McKann
Abbi_McKann

Posted on

Should I Die In Ukraine?

Listen, I happen to have a military background (particularly the asymmetric sort we're seeing in Ukraine), and I've trained soldiers for combat and in emergency medicine. I fought in Iraq. I was medically retired for PTSD. If I were asked to go back to Iraq, I would not. But Ukraine is fundamentally different to me, and I feel an intense need to help.

However, I now have a family. My daughter is almost six. So what do you think? What do I do?

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
miketalbot profile image
Mike Talbot ⭐ • Edited

Weighing a family decision against a moral decision is extremely difficult. The immediacy of the situation in Eastern Europe is made much stronger by the vast access we have to information these days, it feels like its on your doorstep.

You have served, you have paid a price for your service, you are deeply thanked for that service. You would serve again if the enemy was at your doorstep. You do have other responsibilities now and only you can weigh those, the responsibilities you have now don't demand the same level of immediate decision making that a conflict situation asks for, perhaps making them feel less important. I'd argue that this apparent lack of "something to do now" in your home life is an illusion.

I wish you the best with your choice.

Collapse
 
ivan_jrmc profile image
Ivan Jeremic

I think this is dev.to

Collapse
 
natalia_asteria profile image
Natalia Asteria • Edited

It's better you stay home. Take care of your mental health, fam. Thanks for your service in Iraq, my friend.

If I were asked to go back to Iraq, I would not. But Ukraine is fundamentally different to me, and I feel an intense need to help.

Honestly, you might not get the Iraqi PTSD, but you will get a Ukrainian PTSD. Since here, we're talking about fighting against a formal military force which has one of the largest nuclear arsenal in the world.

Not being able to join the foreign brigade doesn't mean you can't help Ukraine though. You can always financially donate to the cause.

Collapse
 
joncarr profile image
Jon Carr

C'mon my dude .... For real? You gotta ask? I vote no.

Collapse
 
naruaika profile image
Naufan Rusyda Faikar

I'd say no. Your daughter may have a better future with you beside.

Collapse
 
ann267 profile image
ann267

In any case no

Collapse
 
alaindet profile image
Alain D'Ettorre

It's not even a discussion for me, a big red no.