DEV Community

Cover image for Starting like a Newbie...again
Abby
Abby

Posted on

Starting like a Newbie...again

As a developer, learning is everything.

Everyday, there is something new to learn. That's what make the job so interesting!

What I've noticed, however, is that when you work at a big tech company or at any company for a while, you start getting rusty when it comes to code outside the company's orbit.

You can get wayyy too comfortable using the company's internal tools and get a little too snug with their unique way of building things. If you do this for years and don't have any outside projects... you can become really rusty.

It can become a problem when you find yourself looking for a new job and realize you're out of practice. Ah!

I, personally, didn't want to get rusty and wanted my creative juices flowing again. I wanted to start from the beginning and wanted a reset.

How am I going to do this?

In the next couple of weeks, I will be doing the "Become a Front-End Web Developer" path on Linkedin Learning to solidify everything I've learned in my career so far.

Do I remember the very basics? Let's see.

I have always learned best from videos and doing projects with a little bit of guidance.

Here are the courses I will be completing:

Succeeding in Web Development: Full Stack and Front End by Ray Villalobos

Web Programming Foundations by Morten Rand-Hendriksen

Programming Foundations: Fundamentals by Annyce Davis

User Experience for Web Design by Chris Nodder

UX Foundations: Accessibility by Derek Featherstone

HTML Essential Training by Jen Simmons

CSS Essential Training by Christina Truong

Javascript Essential Training by Morten Rand-Hendriksen

Responsive Layout by Clarissa Peterson

Learning GitHub by Aaron Stewart

Sass Essential Training by Ray Villalobos

Learning React.js by Eve Porcello

Throughout the journey, I'll document anything and everything that stands out along the way!

See you at the next post! :)

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
zakariaelk profile image
Zakaria Elk

Great post Abby! I can totally relate to this, as I have been working as a web developer myself for a design agency for the last 6years, and got too comfortable in making nice looking and functional WP sites, which didn't get me too far... So earlier this year, I started searching for what's new out there in the market, and got shocked by the amount of tech that I have been missing on....

Things started getting too overwhelming, exhausting, depressing all that nasty stuff...🙈

The good side was, it allowed me to be more honest about my position in this career path, and ask a lot of questions. I decided to face it and start reinventing myself from scratch. I did (and still doing) several online courses, while at the same time working on projects, and refactoring my code when I get the chance.

So talking about courses, seeing the ones you'll be completing, I can assure you that the "Morten Rand-Hendriksen" ones are very well structured and easy to follow.

Even Better I discovered "Wes Bos" and his amazing "Javascript Beginner Course". You learn by building real stuff which is a more fun and motivating approach. He also has a great webdev prodcast called "Syntax" with Scott Tolinski!

Anyway, thank you for sharing, and enjoy the ride!

Collapse
 
abby profile image
Abby

Excellent Zakaria! I'm glad you related to the post!

Thank you for the recommendations and suggestions, they're all great!

Collapse
 
designeranna1 profile image
Designer Anna

Keeping an eye on our own knowledge database is a must to do thing.