DEV Community

Abdullah
Abdullah

Posted on

Which language is best for developing e commerce store?

I know Php very well as well as node js.
But sometimes or mostly I'm confused which is the best language to make e commerce store?
I charge more for node js website as compare to php sites.

What's your opinion?

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
aarone4 profile image
Aaron Reese

All the back end languages are fine for any kind of project. The only drawback to PHP is that you can't run it on a serverless model so scalability could be an issue, but based on the simplistic question I am guessing you are not building the next Shopify or Alibaba site.

Collapse
 
abdullahthedev profile image
Abdullah

Thank you for the reply.
But soon I'm gonna make an e commerce website for my family member, so I'm concerned which will be the best option.

In my opinion nodeJS websites handle more traffic easily as compare to PHP.
Am I right?

So for low traffic websites, php is good or node js?

Collapse
 
aarone4 profile image
Aaron Reese

For low traffic, any of them will work just fine. You won't hit issues with any of the technolgies until you start seeing 100s of concurrent users.
Depending on the number of products and how varied they are, I would look at using a static site generatorL Gatsby, Hugo, Next, Nuxt etc. as these are able to pre-build the product pages for you which will result in a better search ranking. Product data should come via an API

Thread Thread
 
abdullahthedev profile image
Abdullah

yes, you are right