DEV Community

Adarsh.K.Kumar
Adarsh.K.Kumar

Posted on

How to stay on track during Sabbatical / code retreat

I'm starting my very first sabbatical which is going to be six long months atleast.

I have two questions:

I want to explore more about distributed systems. Plan is to build a KV database using Erlang. What do you think about this?
I will be learning about existing DBs and Consistency problem, Storage optimisation etc as part of this.

How do I ensure I stay on track and won't lost focus. I know this is a broad questions. If you have done something similar would like to know the experience.

Rough plan : read books to get concepts, write code, blog, talk at relevant local meetups regarding my learning/work.

Starting off with :
Designing for scalability with Erlang/OTP

Designing Data intensive applications

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
alanmbarr profile image
Alan Barr

Designing Data intensive applications is a great book!

Collapse
 
adarshkkumar profile image
Adarsh.K.Kumar

Also checkout this video by the author "Turning the database inside out."

Collapse
 
alanmbarr profile image
Alan Barr

Nice, i'll have to check that out. I'm very interested in his work on CRDTs.

Collapse
 
adarshkkumar profile image
Adarsh.K.Kumar

I might apply for RC as well. It would be much better if we have more people to bounce our thoughts with.