DEV Community

Cover image for Getting Started with ML & AI on AWS
adewong-dotcom
adewong-dotcom

Posted on

Getting Started with ML & AI on AWS

Image By svstudioart

After finishing my bachelor's degree in Computer Science, I was completely lost as to what to do next. However, I encountered a fellow programmer who was doing really well and mustered the courage to ask her for advice (although I thought I was going to sound foolish). She suggested to find my calling by exploring several fields but to make sure to learn about cloud computing, especially AWS. So I started with the AWS Cloud Practitioner Essentials Day and was hooked. I then took the Cloud Practitioner path on Cloud Quest, earned a badge, and after some exploring discovered my passion for ML and AI which has led me to this point.

This article is aimed at helping others who like me are struggling to simply understand where to find the resources toward their goal and sharing my trajectory as I learn more about using ML and AI with AWS.

As a developer, I plan on starting my path with the Developer Learning Plan which is meant to help developers understand how to develop applications using serverless and container technologies, and the basics of DevOps on AWS. It also prepares you to get certified as an AWS Developer. I know very little about these concepts so I expect this to be very challenging and I might need to investigate a bit more on my own. The Data Engineer track might be more in line with my interests but I found very little related to it for now and will need to do some more digging.

Hopefully, if everything goes well and I'm able to get my certification then I plan on continuing with the Machine Learning Learning Plan which helps Data scientists and developers learn about the services available and the infrastructure to support them. It also helps you to get certified by preparing you for the AWS Certified Machine Learning - Specialty certification exam. I don't expect this Learning Plan to be too difficult since I have been studying a lot of Machine Learning for some time but who knows.

Lastly, I plan on finishing with the AWS for Games Learning Plan: AI and Machine Learning which focuses on teaching game developers and architects on how to use the AWS infrastructure to leverage AI and machine learning in games by using AWS services. It's an introduction to AI and Machine Learning to use with games on AWS and on the website they recommend continuing with AWS for Games: Analytics Learning Plan which is aimed at game developers, designers, DevOps engineers, and cloud architects to learn how to use analytics to make better business decisions and improve game design. It sounds like a great application for the topics that I expect to learn from the other two learning plans and it is closely related to my area of interest.

Let me know what you think in the comments. Do you have any other suggestions or tips?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
valerys profile image
valery

This is a great place to get started with machine learning and artificial intelligence servreality.com Their cloud-based resources and tools make the process affordable and efficient.