DEV Community

Cover image for Programming on Ubuntu?
Admir Mehičić
Admir Mehičić

Posted on

Programming on Ubuntu?

Since I started programming, I only used Windows as my operating system. Few days ago, I finally switched to Ubuntu but I can't easily 'find my way around'. Previously, I used IntelliJ and VSC. I just found about GitKraken (as I see it, github for linux). I've previously DataGrip for SQL, but I still didn't find out what workflow works the best for me on Ubuntu. Do you have any tips/tools how to improve my productivity and efficiency while programming on Ubuntu?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
admirmehicic profile image
Admir Mehičić

Well... I have used Ubuntu on a VM during my Software Engineering study and I just liked the new environment. While using windows I had some bugs, constant updates, downloading a graphics driver cause my system to crash, inconsistent dark theme and so on, even though I was the only user of my laptop and I was the admin, there were two users and I couldn't delete the other one and so on...

Collapse
 
webjose profile image
José Pablo Ramírez Vargas

Is there a reason for the switch? You know, other than hype.

Collapse
 
pengeszikra profile image
Peter Vivo • Edited

Ubuntu and any other linux is fare better for programming than windows.
editor: vim or neovim, vscode
terminal is your friend!
for git use a simple git cli.
IntelliJ - I don't like editor or any development tool which is need to pay. That why I stop using adobe-photoshop also. Also skip to use figma, excel, word ....