DEV Community

Cover image for VS Code in Virtual Reality
Adrian Twarog
Adrian Twarog

Posted on

VS Code in Virtual Reality

I setup vscode on my virtual reality headset and started coding. This was just a fun experience to see if it was possible, and what could be done. But I ended up really enjoying it!

What I found was that virtual reality has come a long way. You can load up VS Code, your browser, desktop and a number other windows, and have them floating anywhere you want inside your workspace!

I used the HP Reverb G2 to do this:

Alt Text

When it came to using React with an example Design, I could code immediately as if I had a multiple monitor setup!

I have a full video that is covering the whole setup if you're interested.

Summary: (TLDR)

  • Resolution looks good for reading text
  • Feels like having multiple monitors
  • Might change the future of coding
  • Heaps of fun!
  • Better than coding on the phone!

Follow and support me:

Special thanks if you subscribe to my channel :)

Want to see more:

I will try to post new great content every day. Here are the latest items:

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
nekio profile image
NEKIO 💙

people think this is cool but its not, VR headset will get heavy and HOT and its just not comfortable at all for long period of time.

Collapse
 
ikazmiod profile image
ikazmi-od

Hey, did the setup have head tracking? Like could you switch windows just by changing the direction you were looking in? Because if you could, ide/code editor smack bang in the middle, up for console, turn head right for your browser, right and up for browser console, left another browser and left and up for that other browser's console. No more dragging mouse around or being limited to 2 or 3 monitors 😇

Collapse
 
_juliettech profile image
juliette_chevalier

Heyyyy this is amazing!! Thanks for sharing. I'm gonna try to see if I can do the same for my Oculus Quest 2. Haven't found an app so I can see VSCode there, but hopefully through the new online version I'll be access my code through the browser.

If anyone has done this and has some advice, would lo to hear! Thanks :)

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

This is some next-level stuff, lol 😄😄

Collapse
 
adriantwarog profile image
Adrian Twarog

Haha I know right!

Collapse
 
vip3rousmango profile image
Al Romano

Looks like my Rift S isn't just for gaming... nice!

Collapse
 
rutvikj profile image
Rutvik Joshi

This is Amazing! Gives an insight on how future kid coders would live in the VR world. XD

Collapse
 
adriantwarog profile image
Adrian Twarog

this is the future

Collapse
 
j_mplourde profile image
Jean-Michel Plourde

For how long did you code in VR? I imagine for long session the headset might have a tole on your body, getting hot/sweaty using it, vision troubles, etc.

Collapse
 
berkangayterminal profile image
CodeNinja

Dope