DEV Community

Cover image for Backend roadmap
Ahmed Wafik
Ahmed Wafik

Posted on

Backend roadmap

If you are a fresh or junior backend engineer, you might find these questions familiar to you.
What should I learn next to take the next step in my career?
Should I learn the database first? Should I learn about cashing, load balancer, or should I learn the advanced topics in the programming language I use?

Think with me

I found myself asking these questions a lot throughout my career, so I tried to put all the topics I knew about on a road map to help myself and others learn new things.

The road map contains three phases or levels and has the topics I think every level needs to know.

Level 1 :

- Problem Solving.
- Data structures.
- Algorithms.
- Database Design.
- Clean Code.
- Domain Driven Design.
- Micro services Structures and distributed systems.
- Time Scale Database.
- Git Refresher.
- CSRF - CORS. 
- Web Socket. And its best practice.
- 7 Concurrency Models. (CoRoutine Model, of Go Routines).
- Unit Testing.
- Redis and cashing mechanisms.
- Lexical scope vs dynamic scope. 
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Level 2:

- Optimizations Your Apps. 
- Managing memory leakage.
- Related topics to Micro Services: 
            - Message Brokers (NATS - KAFKA).
            - CQRS. 
- DevOps Related Topics:
        - Docker & Docker Compose.
        - CI/CD Tools Jenkins - Kubernetes.
        - High Availability.
        - Route Proxy.
        - Load Balancing.
- More of Database:
            - When to use View.
            - Transactions.
            - database indexing. 
            - SQL injection. 
            - locking when and why? + types 
                       of locking.
            - what is dirty read. 
            - data racing.
            - database code first.
- Graph Databases.(Ex:Neo4j)
- Security Issues for Dev. (CIA triangle model )
- SAAS development best practice.
- How to build a 12 factor app.
- How to Gracefully Close Channels in go . 
- Mutex in go what that mean .
- Javascript event loop.
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Level 3:

- Server-less Development.

  • Handling High Intensive Data Application. - Data Race vs race condition. - Dirty Read.
  • Infrastructure as a code (IAC) concept.
  • Workflow Programming.
  • Software Architect : - Enterprise Architect vs. Solution Architect vs. Technical Architect - Event Sourcing design ( watch martin fowler talk)
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Conclusion

I hope this road map helps you to excel. I will try to tackle every point in the roadmap in upcoming articles and regularly update it.
Your contribution is highly appreciated.
Thanks for reading ❤️❤️

Feel free to reach out on Linkedin

Top comments (0)