DEV Community

ahmedvilden
ahmedvilden

Posted on

Is there a JS tracking library that tracks my events on any web page?

I'm looking for a JS tracking library that would track my events on websites and then log the actions I did. I'm not talking about mouseclicks etc, I want to log button clicks, forms filling, etc.. I need to log my activity so I can create a JSON spec file to use in my Python project.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
bias profile image
Tobias Nickel

i think you could find some chrome extension that does that. i know there are some that generate script for webdriver or puppeteer. not sure if there is one that can export a json description. but let me know.

Collapse
 
ahmedvilden profile image
ahmedvilden

That's what I'm exactly trying to do ( a web extension) , I tried looking for libraries that would help me do so, but the one I found where collecting datas ones.

Collapse
 
arberbr profile image
Arber Braja

If you need to track yourself you could create an extension, a browser extension.

That would be IMO the best bet. Because for sure most of the sites use trackers but you dont have access over the data they collect.

So using your own tracking extension with your tracker of choice integrated into an extension could work.

Collapse
 
ahmedvilden profile image
ahmedvilden

That's what I'm exactly trying to do, I tried looking for libraries that would help me do so, but the one I found where collecting datas ones.