DEV Community

AJ Makhl
AJ Makhl

Posted on

Where can I start with NodeJS? Show me da wae!

Hey I have a question. Or some. 🤔

IDK if I’m actually going to get a conversation going here but it’s worth a try.

There are so many open source projects out there all doing so many beautiful things and they are being built by... Developers. Engineers. Etc.

I’m talking mostly about nodejs stuff.

There seems to be a form of layers that all projects follow.

Projects like React, create-react-app, Apollo, Prisma, and not just using them but building them.

Projects that you build to be used by others.

Modularizations... Unit testings... Authentications... HOCs... config files... database this and that... handling files... I mean I could go on and on...

This all seems like rocket science with noodles(node_modules) as a beginner frontend developer who builds components with ReactJS. Who Uses firebase cause it’s so damn easy. Who maybe can build a hello world express server...

I know you don’t have to know everything.

My point is...

For all you awesome devs who work or are getting into backend development and building API’s and contributing to the open source community.

Where did you start?

If you could go back in time... Where would you start?

How long did it take (you) to be able to look at a project for the first time and start thinking about how you can contribute?

Sorry for the weird grammar. 🤪

Thanks for any input. 😇

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
stereobooster profile image
stereobooster

This is awesome phrase

rocket science with noodles

I feel like will quote it a lot.

Back to your question(s). What do you want to achieve?

  • Learn to program in general?
  • Learn how to accomplish some specific project (some idea of yours)?
  • Got into open-source? (Why?)
  • Get a job in the field?
Collapse
 
ajmakhl profile image
AJ Makhl

🤣 The following phrase is MIT.

rocket science with noodles

  • Learn to program in general?

When I think about in general, it almost seems like programming with any language. I like NodeJS because it's at a point where it can be used to build almost anything with it. So yes I want to learn programming in general specifically with Node.

  • Learn how to accomplish some specific project (some idea of yours)?

I have always tried to build a complete project and I still do that daily just because its fun.

  • Git 🤪into open-source? (Why?)

You know how when you watch movie credits, you see a lot of names that no one really reads. I think it's cool to be on the credits of a project. No one will see it and no one has to except for my two friends or my kids in the future. ("Look look that's meee!!!") But seriously, open-source is where challenges are at the moment.

  • Get a job in the field?

I have taught myself frontend code and I would love a job in that field as I learn backend. I think I am way more comfortable in the frontend right now (When working for $$$). I want the backend to be a hobby.


So what do I want to achieve?
I ultimately want to just be a JavaScript Developer (frontend or backend or... anyend). I think there is a ton of projects that are being built now and in the future that will require some really complex code in simple lines. I want to code and make enough to eat and sleep. I don't want to climb ladders or hope for promotions.

Thanks for the feedback!

Collapse
 
stereobooster profile image
stereobooster

I think it's cool to be on the credits of a project.

This is achievable. Look for good-first-issue tag on the github, especially those which provide mentoring

I want to code and make enough to eat and sleep. I don't want to climb ladders or hope for promotions.

very smart of you

Thread Thread
 
ajmakhl profile image
AJ Makhl

Look for good-first-issue tag on the github

😲I feel like I have been living under a rock...

Thank you!

Collapse
 
hussein_cheayto profile image
hussein cheayto

I'm not a backend developer but I can give some tips from my humble experience in programming.

1- Enroll in Udemy courses (it's my favorite, also it shows the HR that you're ready to spend money to educate yourself)

2- Don't get frustrated: I used to get frustrated by the speed of the instructor and how easy coding seems to him/her, while I'm struggling to write 1 simple line of code.

3- Practice, Practice, Practice....: to handle tip #2, you need to Practice as much as you can. Before you go to sleep, as yourself this question: "Did I get the most out of me today?" If the answer is yes, then you can go to sleep, if not, then turn on your PC and code.

Hope it helps

Collapse
 
ajmakhl profile image
AJ Makhl

That’s something I’m willing to go through. I just get excited with the backend that I move too fast and end up with a lot of code I don’t understand. After that I scrape it and start all over.

I guess that’s what practice practice practice means.

Thanks for the feedback!

Collapse
 
hussein_cheayto profile image
hussein cheayto

Yes that's correct!
One small trick also that could keep you motivated. At the end of each week, repeat the very first video you've watched at the beginning of the week, and that includes coding. If you think it's less complex even by 1%, then you're doing a great progress.