DEV Community

Cover image for Writing a Blog
Akish tp
Akish tp

Posted on

Writing a Blog

I dont do this, but I guess there is a first time for everything. I don't find blogs particularly interesting, I'd rather watch content in video format. But creating videos is a lot harder and more time-consuming work. But in the meantime, this is a good place to start.

I did read some blogs and especially the first blogs of some popular tech bloggers to find out how to start things and something common in most of them is apologising for bad writing. I am not gonna do that. The only reason I am writing this is to entertain myself and keep myself busy instead of wasting my time.

I am doing my bachelors in computer science. Almost 2 semesters in and I have made little progress in learning anything useful. Made good friends tho. Used to think I was introverted, but I guess I'm introverted only when I'm back home. Still not the most open or talkative person, but I'm making progress.

That is nice and all, but what about my future? What happened to all my huge goals and dreams??? Guess going into a below tier 3 college I should have known this would've happened. You dont go to college to study but to make connections, and if all your connections are toxic, all ambitionless so rude and always negative you can't just go with the flow anymore, you have to go out of your way and make the effort to change. On your OWN. it becomes harder to stay focused and much much harder to stay determined.

So, I made a decision, to change. And to bring that change into my life, make a schedule for myself and follow through with it. It isn't going to be just a study timetable, I will change every part of my life that I dont like. I've had enough of hating myself. If I don't like something, I change it. That's the gist of it at least.

Start with working out, not to be better looking or be healthy but at least not get fatter, I just can't afford to buy new clothes only to wear them just for one year. Like, clothes that I bought last year look tight on me now.

Save Money, the college hostel gives good eatable food, I don't need to go out every other day. I just tag along due to the fear of missing out. If I don't go along with them once, I may miss any of the new inside jokes they make and then it starts a butterfly effect of me not understanding any of their jokes and in the end not being friends anymore. If the only way to stay friends is by going out and spending money that I regret later, I dont need those people in my life.

That brings me to the next point, take control of my life, and have my own choices and feelings. Stop jumping on with other people's opinions. I dont think I change my opinion with what other people say, I just dont have an opinion of my own.

Next, the most important point, learn a skill that can make money for you. I already have the skill, of web development. But who the hell paying for a guy that can't make a blog app without following a tutorial. I need to cultivate my skills and make some apps that are good and I would personally use. After getting some apps on the market, I will have to promote myself. I need to put myself out there.

These are going to be my resolutions for May 10 to Aug 18. I will follow through with this and also update my progress here.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

All the best with your journey!

Collapse
 
mikejones profile image
MikeJones

fantastic post you have shared with us i appreciate your work keep going .dua to make someone come back to you