DEV Community

akpvt
akpvt

Posted on • Updated on

good practices for your software projects

For opensource projects, choose a license

Create a good README for your projects

Keep a Change log for your project

A way to manage project versions

How to write Release Notes (Release Notes are different from Change Log)

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
ant_f_dev profile image
Anthony Fung

If it's open source, it's also important to choose a licence. People aren't technically allowed to do anything with it unless it has one.

choosealicense.com/

Collapse
 
akpvt profile image
akpvt

Good point @ant_f_dev
Updated the post to include this choose a license link. Thanks!

Collapse
 
ant_f_dev profile image
Anthony Fung

No problem.

I thought I'd mention the licence thing to help others because I found it confusing when I wrote Working Files List.

I initially didn't realise that I needed to add one until I read more about it. I then chose GPL3 until I read it would make my project incompatible with uploading to the Visual Studio Marketplace.