DEV Community

Cover image for Python "Financial Health" Terminal Project
Alejandro Henao Echeverri
Alejandro Henao Echeverri

Posted on

Python "Financial Health" Terminal Project

I would like to start by saying that this is my very first python project, I'm currently learning the language on Codecademy.com and this "financial health" project is something that has been rounding my head lately so I decide to implement it as my first project, I know there is a lot of improvements to do but with the basics of python this is what I got so far, I'm also open to comments on how to improve it, or any other comments you have, I would aprecia them.

Script functionality: this program would first, take some data about you (your ID, your name and your monthly income), then it will show you a list of option for you to chose in order to add extra incomes you have also the option to enter your expenses, the point of the program is that you can input the expenses you have trough the month, and then it will show you (option 4) your financial health summary so you can see if you did a good job managing your money on that specific month (or period of time).

there is also an option 3 in which you can see your inputs so far along with you information.

Saving File: It contains a .csv file in which the program will save your data so the next time you open de program only have to enter your ID and the program will load your information and inputs so far so you can enter new inputs without losing the previous ones.

As a final comment, I'd like to say that right now I have a lot of ideas on how to improve the program based on new knowledge, but since this is my first project I prefer to let it this way, consider it this the version 1.0

I'd like to thank you for your time.

Image description
Image description
Image description
Image description

GitHub Link: https://github.com/alejohenaoe/financial-health.git

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
taijidude profile image
taijidude

Good Work! I've been wanting to build something like this for ages. Automated tests and their influence on the structure of your project seem like a nice next step?

Collapse
 
alejohenaoe profile image
Alejandro Henao Echeverri

Thank you, I have not think of that but also recently finish a more advance course on python and now that you mention, that would be a very nice next step.

Collapse
 
taijidude profile image
taijidude

In my opinion it's a very good skill to have early. I wished i understood it sooner. Would have saved me some grey hair. 😉

Collapse
 
phalkmin profile image
Paulo Henrique

make it read bank receipts and 🔥