DEV Community

Cover image for Building a Robust Web Platform on AWS
Alex Pustovalov
Alex Pustovalov

Posted on

Building a Robust Web Platform on AWS

In this post, I'm starting a series where I will share my progress on an ambitious system project. The project is a comprehensive, open-source web platform offering a range of features like subscription and membership management, email communication, payment processing, and file storage, all hosted on Amazon Web Services (AWS).

The project is called Page Mosaic. The name doesn't fully reflect the system's purpose, but other names I considered were already taken.

I plan to develop a system that can be launched on AWS, utilizing its resources to the fullest.

AWS is an excellent platform for creating the backend of any online service. It's affordable, flexible, and complex.

Launching a container or a server instance on AWS is straightforward. However, setting up the system for automatic scaling based on load is complex and requires a deep understanding of how AWS works.

In this project, ChatGPT will be a valuable tool that I'll use extensively.

To deploy the system on AWS without delving too deep into the AWS console, I'll use the Cloud Development Kit (CDK).

CDK allows you to script nearly all the administrative tasks for creating and configuring AWS resources.

CDK is a very powerful tool, comparable to having an excellent AWS dev-ops on your team.

Currently, my task is to create a web page or website to host a landing page for the project, drawing attention to it.

I'm doing this as part of the project development because the site will run on this system, making it the foundational element of the system. The system's site will run on the system itself – it makes sense to use what we build.

In my next post, I'll detail how I'm doing this. As a teaser, the site will run on Remix.run and will be entirely serverless.

Top comments (0)