DEV Community

Alexander Tarler
Alexander Tarler

Posted on

Personal Space Invaders

Here we go, gang. Here's my first project in my recreate-retro-games-plan. I was juggling a few ideas on which game to start with, but after the title "Personal Space Invaders" popped up in my mind I could not not choose it!

My plan is to recreate the classic game "Space Invaders", but adding on my own silly take on it. I aim to make the game about a person who is VERY keen on keeping people away from their personal space, and I think the creative process (and hopefully the end result) could be very fun!

It's my first time documenting my progress on a site like this one, so please keep in mind that I might forget to mention a few things. I anyone is following this guide/tutorial/chaos and you feel as if I've confused you, please feel free to reach out to me and I'll do my best to clear things up!

Now that that's over with - let's go!

I'm using Unity for creating this game, and I've chosen to go with the "2D URP" setting when I set up the game . I have also moved around the UI for the Unity Editor a bit. So far, this is all I have:

Image description

I have also made a quick and simple sketch of how the game should look like:

Image description

I'm going to try and keep my posts somewhat structured in order to make them more readable, so the process will be divided up into different posts. If you want to follow my process I'd suggest you keep an eye out for more posts, and I welcome constructive criticism, tips and discussions.

Have a lovely day and take care,

Alex

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

So much gamedev content on my feed this morning! Glad to see this!