DEV Community

Alexandr M.
Alexandr M.

Posted on Originally published at shopify.ecom-store.pro

Shopify's ChatGPT and Claude Connectors: What They Expose and Where the Limits Are

If you build tools around AI assistants, or you are deciding whether to let one touch a production store, the useful question is not "does it work" but "what exactly can it call, and what is walled off". Shopify's Help Center now documents three official integrations for ChatGPT, Claude and Perplexity.

This write-up walks through what each connector exposes, the action tiers (read, write, blocked), the batch limits, how access and data ownership work, and what is still undocumented. The connector facts below come from Shopify's Help Center pages as read on September 13-14, 2026.

The original article carries an interactive step-by-step safety checklist with saved progress; here it is a plain list in the section "Connecting it safely".

As of September 2026, Shopify's Help Center documents three ways to run a store from a chat window: the Shopify plugin for ChatGPT, the Shopify connector for Claude and the Shopify connector for Perplexity. All three connect to a store you own, and the section that documents them is explicit that shoppers who buy through AI assistants are a different topic.

That makes this three decisions rather than one: which connector, given the assistant you already pay for and whether the store exists yet; what to let it change, since some actions are read-only by design and some are blocked outright; and what stays in your admin whatever you approve.

The quick verdict

Pick by what you already have: the assistant you pay for and whether the store exists. Every connector manages a store you own with the same core. It can create and change products, collections and inventory, create percentage-off discount codes and change an unpublished theme, and it reads orders, customers and analytics without changing them. The full action table is further down. The capability gaps are the few actions named in that section and Perplexity's text-only answers.

Situation Answer Why
You already pay for ChatGPT and run a store Shopify plugin for ChatGPT Manages your store from the chat and can also build one from a preview; no extra Shopify fee
Your team works in a Claude workspace Shopify connector for Claude The same store actions except attaching a photo in the chat, plus Claude's own access controls per conversation or workspace owner
You use Perplexity and already own a store Shopify connector for Perplexity Manages an existing store only, with text-only answers; no preview and no claim
No store yet A ChatGPT or Claude preview, then claim it The claimed store starts a free trial, currently 4 months as of September 2026; Perplexity can't build one
You want it to refund, cancel, publish a theme or change payments, taxes or domains Your Shopify admin Those actions are blocked even when you approve write access

Key takeaway: Pick the connector for the assistant you already pay for. The ChatGPT plugin and the Claude connector manage a store you own and can build one from a storefront preview, with no extra Shopify fee, while the Perplexity connector manages an existing store only. Refunds, order changes and your live theme stay in your admin.

What are Shopify's ChatGPT, Claude and Perplexity connectors?

Shopify documents three official integrations: the Shopify plugin for ChatGPT, the Shopify connector for Claude and the Shopify connector for Perplexity. All three manage a store you already own; as of September 2026, ChatGPT and Claude can also build one from a storefront preview. None is on the App Store.

The names are Shopify's own (plugin for ChatGPT, connector for Claude and Perplexity) and they matter when you search, because none of the three is listed on the Shopify App Store. The Help Center pages for the ChatGPT plugin, the Claude connector and the Perplexity connector each say you install the integration directly from the AI tool, and Shopify asks you to use that official integration rather than create an API access token or build your own.

"The Shopify plugin for ChatGPT and the Shopify connector for Claude can build a store from a storefront preview and manage a store that you own. The Shopify connector for Perplexity manages an existing store only."

Shopify Help Center, Connecting AI tools to your store

Where the three differ is in what happens before a store exists, and in how answers come back:

Connector Manages a store you own Builds a new store from a preview How analytics come back Assistant subscription paid to
Shopify plugin for ChatGPT Yes Yes: preview, then claim Tables and charts OpenAI
Shopify connector for Claude Yes Yes: preview, then claim Tables and charts Anthropic
Shopify connector for Perplexity Yes No: existing store only Text only Not stated on its Shopify page, as read on September 13, 2026

Source: Shopify Help Center pages for each connector, read September 13-14, 2026. Every connector also works through the Shopify Admin API for pages, blogs, menus, metafields, markets and translations, asking you to confirm first.

For the Claude route, Shopify's own Learn With Shopify channel on YouTube walks through both halves in one 2026 video: building a store from a preview, then connecting Claude to run it day to day. It is a walkthrough, not the source for anything on this page; the limits above come from the Help Center.

Can ChatGPT or Claude build a store from a preview?

Yes. In ChatGPT or Claude you generate a storefront preview and then claim it. Claiming makes you the store owner and starts the free trial, currently 4 months as of September 2026. The tool isn't connected to the new store until you authorize access, and the preview is finished in your admin.

A preview is not yet your store. Shopify's setup page for AI-created stores says the store is created on Shopify before you have an account for it and starts as a trial store you can look at before taking ownership. Claiming connects it to your Shopify account and makes you the owner, and the free trial, currently 4 months as of September 2026, begins when you claim the store, not when it was generated.

The connection does not carry over automatically. The Help Center is explicit that a store built from a preview is a new store the tool has not yet been authorized on:

"If you created the store from a preview in an AI tool, such as the Shopify plugin for ChatGPT or the Shopify connector for Claude, then the tool isn't connected to your new store yet. Authorize access to the new store before the tool can make changes to it."

Shopify Help Center, Setting up a store created with an AI tool or vibe code partner

The preview also ships unfinished by design. Shopify's ChatGPT and Claude pages describe it as a starting point rather than a finished store, with a theme that matches the preview you chose and possibly sample content, and they tell you to review product names, descriptions, images, prices, store policies, shipping and payment settings and domain settings in your admin before you sell.

Perplexity has no preview or claim flow at all, so this route is ChatGPT and Claude only.

What these connectors are not

Three neighbouring things share the words and are not these connectors: vibe code partners that create a store for you and stay installed after the claim, agentic commerce where shoppers buy through AI assistants, and the Shopify CLI connector for developers. These connectors are for you, working on a store you own.

What it is Who uses it What it touches Where it's covered
The ChatGPT, Claude and Perplexity connectors You, on a store you own Products, collections, inventory, orders, customers, discounts and analytics; a preview and claim for ChatGPT and Claude This guide
Vibe code partners: Lovable, Manus, Replit, v0 by Vercel You, before or after you have a store Create a store for you; the partner's app stays installed after you claim it Not covered here
Agentic storefronts, Selling on ChatGPT, the Agentic plan Shoppers who use AI assistants Whether your products are discoverable to AI-assisted buyers Agentic commerce guide (linked below)
Shopify CLI connector Developers API access for an AI tool on a local device; not a chat, no preview or claim Shopify Help Center

The difference from the partner route is who builds and what stays connected: a partner's app stays installed once you claim, while a store from a ChatGPT or Claude preview isn't connected until you authorize it.

The other confusion runs the opposite way: the connectors put you in the chat, agentic commerce puts your shopper there. For products discoverable to AI-assisted buyers the Help Center points to agentic storefronts, Selling on ChatGPT and the Agentic plan, and selling through AI assistants and agentic commerce has its own guide.

Developers have a fourth thing with a similar name: the Shopify CLI connector authorizes an AI tool on a local device to reach the Shopify API for a store from the command line. It is API access and nothing more: not a chat interface, and no storefront preview or claim flow.

What can a connected AI tool actually do in your store?

A connected AI tool works in three tiers. It reads orders, customers and analytics but never changes them; once you approve write access it creates and updates products, collections and inventory, creates percentage-off discount codes and changes an unpublished theme; refunds, order changes, your live theme and plan, payment, tax or domain settings stay blocked.

Shopify publishes the full table of actions for each connector: 29 actions for ChatGPT, 28 for Claude and 24 for Perplexity, as counted in the Help Center tables on September 14, 2026. The gap is the two storefront-preview actions, the claim and the sample-product actions Perplexity lacks, plus an image-upload action only ChatGPT has; the store-management core is the same on all three.

Find your task in the table, then read the tier it sits in:

Your task What the tool does Access Limit
Create a product Title, description, price, variants, options and inventory tracking Write none
Update a product Title, description, status, images, variant prices or SKUs Write none
Change product status in bulk Active, draft or archived, by naming products or choosing a collection Write Up to 50 per batch
Collections Create manual or smart collections; update title, description, image, sort order or rules Write none
Inventory Check stock per variant across locations; set a quantity at a location with a reason Write none
Orders List recent orders with customer, totals, payment and fulfillment status; read one order Read only Up to 50 per list
Customers Reads customer records Read only none
Analytics Answers questions about sales, orders, products, customers and fulfillment Read only Perplexity returns text only
Discount codes Creates percentage-off codes Write, create only No edits to existing codes; no fixed-amount discounts
Theme Changes a theme that isn't published Write Can't edit the live theme, publish or delete one
Pages, blogs, menus, metafields, markets, translations Works through the Shopify Admin API and asks you to confirm first Write No dedicated action
Refunds, cancelling or capturing orders, marking orders as paid, returns, gift cards Nothing: these actions are blocked even when you approve write access Blocked Your admin only
Plan, payments, taxes, domains Nothing: a connected AI tool can't change these settings Blocked Your admin only

Source: Shopify Help Center pages for the ChatGPT plugin, the Claude connector and the Perplexity connector, and the considerations page, read September 14, 2026. The rows are the same on all three connectors.

What stays blocked even with write access

Refunds, cancelling or capturing orders, marking orders as paid, returns and gift cards are blocked on every connector even when you approve write access, and so are your plan, payments, taxes and domains. The tool can change only an unpublished theme, and some actions stay read-only by the provider's design.

Money and order state are the clearest line. Shopify's considerations page for connected AI tools lists the actions that stay off limits no matter what access you approve:

"A connected AI tool can't issue refunds, cancel or capture orders, mark orders as paid, process returns, or create and adjust gift cards. These actions are blocked even when you approve write access."

Shopify Help Center, Considerations for connecting AI tools to your store

Blocked regardless of access:

  • Refunds, cancelling or capturing orders, marking orders as paid, processing returns, creating or adjusting gift cards
  • Settings such as your plan, payments, taxes or domains
  • Your live theme: a connected tool can change an unpublished theme but can't edit the live one, publish a theme or delete one

Two more limits sit underneath. Some connector actions are read-only by design, which the AI tool's provider controls, and Shopify says your admin is still required for payments, taxes, domains and launch readiness. The connector helps with some tasks; it doesn't replace the admin.

Why a big batch can stop halfway

Because a connected tool changes items one at a time, a large batch can stop partway, and some actions cover a limited number of items: product status changes take up to 50 products per batch and order lists return up to 50 at a time. An unfinished batch is completed in your Shopify admin.

Shopify warns that a connected AI tool changes items one at a time, so a large batch can stop partway, and that some actions cover only a limited number of items. The two published limits are the ones in the table: up to 50 products per status change and up to 50 orders per list.

The instruction for an unfinished batch is short: finish it in your Shopify admin. For a catalog of hundreds of products that means planning the work in batches you can check, rather than one long chat instruction.

Who controls what the tool can see and change?

You control access in two ways: the data access scope you approve when you install, and the permissions of the staff account the tool acts through. A user who can't edit product data can't give the tool that ability. Lowering the scope later means uninstalling, and each connector holds one store at a time.

Shopify's page on authorizing AI tool access describes two levers, the data access you approve and the user permissions of whoever operates the tool, and six rules follow from them:

Rule What Shopify says
Data access is what you approve The tool can read data but not change it unless you approve write access when you connect.
Never more than the staff account Users who interact with the tool are limited by their own permissions; someone who can't edit product data can't give the tool that ability.
Some actions are read-only by design Orders, customers and analytics are read but never changed; some actions are read-only by design, which the AI tool's provider controls.
Lowering access means uninstalling To decrease the data access scope after you approve it, you have to uninstall the integration.
Uninstalling revokes everything Uninstall the integration from your Shopify admin and the tool can no longer read or edit your store data.
One store per connector at a time Each integration connects one store at a time, even if your stores are in the same organization.

The second lever is the one to plan around. The tool acts through a staff account, and that account's permissions are its ceiling, so the question before you connect is which account it should be: the owner's, or a narrower staff seat built for the job. How Shopify staff permissions are organized is the map for that decision.

On the Claude side there is one control more: its Help Center page says Claude applies its own access controls as well, so a connection can be limited to specific conversations or restricted by whoever owns your Claude workspace.

Reducing access later is not a slider. Shopify's wording is unambiguous:

"To decrease the data access scope after you approve it, you have to uninstall the integration."

Shopify Help Center, Authorizing AI tool access to your store

Where your store data goes after you connect

Once you grant access, the data the tool receives is no longer processed by Shopify, and how the AI company uses, retains or processes it isn't controlled by Shopify. Under Section 9.9 of Shopify's Terms of Service that use is your responsibility: review the tool's terms, meet your legal obligations, monitor its changes.

The considerations page draws the boundary in one sentence: after you provide access to the third-party AI tool, that data is no longer processed by Shopify, and how the tool uses, retains or processes it after it is shared isn't controlled by Shopify. That includes customer records, which the connectors read.

Responsibility follows the data. Under Section 9.9 of the Shopify Terms of Service you're responsible for your use of third-party services, including the data you share and your obligations to customers under applicable laws. Shopify names the GDPR and the CCPA as examples, not as the full list. Its page lists three things it expects of you:

  1. Reviewing the terms and privacy policy of the AI tool that you connect to before activating the integration.
  2. Ensuring that your use of connected AI tools meets your obligations to your customers under applicable laws.
  3. Monitoring your store for any changes that a connected AI tool makes.

One question the section doesn't answer is training. No page in the connecting-AI-tools section read on September 13, 2026 (the considerations, authorizing-access and index pages) states whether OpenAI, Anthropic or Perplexity trains models on store data; the only statement is that Shopify no longer controls it. That makes the first duty above, reading the tool's privacy policy, the place where that answer lives.

What happens if the tool makes a wrong change?

You are responsible for the change; actions a connected AI tool takes on your behalf aren't reviewed or approved by Shopify. Shopify asks you to review any action you ask the tool to take for accuracy and to monitor your store for changes; a stopped batch is finished in your admin, and uninstalling revokes access.

Shopify's answer is blunt: if an AI tool makes an incorrect change to your store, you're responsible for that change, because actions connected AI tools take on your behalf aren't reviewed or approved by Shopify. There is no Shopify-side review between the chat and your catalog.

What the documentation gives you instead is already in your hands: reviewing any action you ask the tool to take for accuracy, monitoring your store for changes a connected tool makes, finishing a batch that stopped partway in the admin, and uninstalling the integration to end the tool's ability to read or edit anything.

Whether the tool itself keeps a change log or an undo is a question for its provider, not for Shopify: the connector pages send issues with ChatGPT, Claude or Perplexity to OpenAI, Anthropic or Perplexity AI, and issues with your Shopify account or your store to Shopify Support.

What does it cost to connect ChatGPT or Claude to Shopify?

Nothing extra on Shopify's side for ChatGPT or Claude. Standard Shopify plan pricing applies to a store you create or run through the ChatGPT plugin or the Claude connector, and you pay the assistant's subscription to OpenAI or Anthropic. The Perplexity page, as read on September 13, 2026, states no pricing terms.

Both the ChatGPT and the Claude pages answer the cost question in the same two sentences, and the answer is that Shopify's side doesn't change:

"Standard Shopify plan pricing applies to a store that you create or run this way, and there's no extra Shopify fee for using the plugin. You pay any ChatGPT subscription costs to OpenAI rather than to Shopify."

Shopify Help Center, Shopify plugin for ChatGPT

So the Shopify part of the bill is the plan you would pay anyway. For a new store from a preview, the subscription is billed after the free trial ends and you choose a paid plan; for an existing store, nothing changes. As of September 2026, Basic is $39 a month billed monthly or $29 a month on annual billing, in USD.

Which assistant tier you need is a question for the assistant's own pricing page, not the Help Center: Shopify's pages name no amounts, and the Perplexity page, as read on September 13, 2026, carries no pricing sentence at all.

Cost line Who bills you What Shopify's page says
Your Shopify plan Shopify Standard plan pricing applies; no extra Shopify fee for the ChatGPT plugin or the Claude connector
ChatGPT subscription OpenAI "You pay any ChatGPT subscription costs to OpenAI rather than to Shopify"
Claude subscription Anthropic The same sentence, with Claude and Anthropic
Perplexity subscription Not stated on the Shopify page No pricing sentence on the connector page, as read on September 13, 2026

Connectors vs Sidekick: do you need both?

You may well use both. Sidekick is the AI assistant inside your Shopify admin; the ChatGPT, Claude and Perplexity connectors work from outside it, and Shopify says plainly that a connector doesn't replace your admin or Sidekick. Use a connector for the tasks in the table, and the admin for everything else.

Each connector page carries a version of the same disclaimer (the Perplexity page drops the line about starting a store), and the disclaimer settles the "which one" question by refusing it:

"Your Shopify admin is the main place to manage your business. The plugin can help you start a store and handle some tasks, but it doesn't replace your Shopify admin, and it doesn't replace Sidekick, which is the AI assistant inside your Shopify admin."

Shopify Help Center, Shopify plugin for ChatGPT

The practical split is where you are working. A connector brings the tasks in the table into ChatGPT, Claude or Perplexity; Sidekick lives inside the admin, next to the settings the connectors can't touch. If you already run a store and don't work in ChatGPT, Claude or Perplexity, a connector adds a new place to do those tasks: the products, collections, inventory, discounts and analytics in the table are also managed in your admin.

Practical limits before you connect

Five limits apply first: one store per connector at a time; installation from the AI tool, never the App Store or your own API token; a desktop browser for setup; support split between the assistant's company and Shopify; and text-only answers from Perplexity. No page read on September 13, 2026 names Plus or POS.

  • One store at a time per connector, even if your stores are in the same organization; the action tables include switching to another store you own.
  • Installed from the AI tool, not the App Store. Shopify asks you to use the official integration rather than create an API access token or build your own; using one means agreeing to the Shopify API Terms.
  • A desktop browser for setup. Whether the plugin or connector is available on a mobile device depends on ChatGPT, Claude or Perplexity.
  • Support is split. OpenAI, Anthropic or Perplexity AI for issues with the tool itself, Shopify Support for issues with your account or your store.
  • Perplexity answers in text only. No storefront previews, tables or charts, no sample product browsing, and no way to generate a preview or claim a new store from it.

Plan and channel compatibility is a gap in the documentation rather than a rule. None of the six pages in the section read on September 13, 2026 mentions Shopify Plus or Shopify POS in the context of the connectors, so if either is your setup, the honest next step is to ask Shopify Support before you build a workflow on it.

Shopify's own pages carry no launch date for any of the three. No changelog.shopify.com or shopify.com/news entry found on September 13, 2026 names one, and the only first-party date to point to is that Anthropic's connector directory lists the Claude connector as added in April 2026, a date for the directory card, not necessarily for the feature.

What was looked for and not found. Several statements here are absences: the Perplexity page's silence on pricing, the section's silence on Shopify Plus and POS, the lack of any statement on whether the AI company trains on store data, the lack of any change log or undo for the tool's actions, and the lack of an official launch date. Each rests on the same reading: the Shopify Help Center pages for the ChatGPT plugin, the Claude connector and the Perplexity connector, the considerations and authorizing-access pages and the section index, read on September 13 and again on September 14, 2026, plus a search of changelog.shopify.com and shopify.com/news for the launch date.

Connecting it safely: seven steps

Seven steps keep a connector safe: read the tool's terms and privacy policy, pick the staff account it acts through, decide read-only or write before you approve, install from the AI tool on a desktop browser, start with a small batch and an unpublished theme, monitor every change, and know that uninstalling revokes access. Steps one to four happen before you connect and decide what the tool can ever do; five to seven are how you keep it safe afterwards.

  1. Read the tool's terms and privacy policy. Shopify puts reviewing the AI tool's terms and privacy policy on you before activating the integration, because data you share is no longer processed by Shopify. Read its privacy policy, including what it says about retention, and accept that data shared with the tool is handled outside Shopify.
  2. Pick the staff account it will act through. The tool never gets more than that account's permissions, so choose the account whose rights match what you want the tool to do, and check its permissions against the tasks you plan to hand over.
  3. Decide read-only or write before you approve. The tool reads by default and changes data only if you approve write access; lowering the scope later means uninstalling the integration and reconnecting.
  4. Install from the AI tool, on a desktop browser. The official integration is installed from ChatGPT, Claude or Perplexity, not from the Shopify App Store, and Shopify says not to build your own connection with an API token. Don't create an API access token for it.
  5. Start with a small batch and an unpublished theme. Changes run one item at a time and product status changes are capped at 50 per batch; the tool can change only a theme that isn't published. Keep the first task within one batch of 50 or fewer items and point theme work at an unpublished copy, never the live theme.
  6. Monitor every change and finish batches in your admin. Monitoring your store for changes the tool makes is your obligation; Shopify doesn't review the tool's actions, and an incomplete batch is finished in your Shopify admin.
  7. Know the exit. Uninstalling the integration from your Shopify admin revokes access; after that the tool can no longer read or edit your store data. Know where it is uninstalled and confirm with a test uninstall that the tool lost access.

The bottom line

Connect ChatGPT, Claude or Perplexity if you already pay for the assistant and want catalog, inventory, discount and analytics work from the chat; Shopify's ChatGPT and Claude pages say there's no extra Shopify fee. Approve write access only through a deliberately scoped staff account; refunds, order changes and the live theme stay in the admin.

The connectors are documented and bounded, which makes the decision less about risk than about fit: whether the tasks you would hand over are the ones in the table, and whether you are comfortable that the data leaves Shopify's processing once you approve access.

Connect it through a deliberately scoped staff account, and treat write access as a decision, not a default. If you already pay for ChatGPT or Claude and run a store, the plugin or connector is worth switching on for product, collection, inventory and discount work. If what you want is refunds, order edits or a published theme, the connector was never going to do it; that stays in your admin.

FAQ

Does Shopify have a ChatGPT plugin?
Yes. The Shopify plugin for ChatGPT is documented in Shopify's Help Center as an official integration. It isn't listed on the Shopify App Store; you install it from ChatGPT on its install page. It can generate storefront previews and claim a store, and once you sign in and approve access it can manage a store you own: products, collections, inventory, orders, customers, discounts and analytics.

Is the Shopify connector for Claude free?
There is no extra Shopify fee. Shopify's page says standard Shopify plan pricing applies to a store you create or run through the connector, and that any Claude subscription costs are paid to Anthropic rather than to Shopify. So the cost is your Shopify plan plus your Claude subscription; the connector pages in the Help Center name no Claude amount or plan requirement.

Can ChatGPT or Claude edit my live theme?
No. Shopify's considerations page says a connected AI tool can change a theme that isn't published, but it can't edit your live theme, publish a theme, or delete one. In practice the tool works on an unpublished copy, and publishing stays a step you take yourself in the admin, where you can review the result first.

Can a connected AI tool issue refunds or cancel orders?
No, and not even with write access. Shopify lists refunds, cancelling or capturing orders, marking orders as paid, processing returns, and creating or adjusting gift cards as actions that are blocked even when you approve write access. The connectors read your orders, up to 50 at a time, but don't change them, so order work stays in your admin.

Can I connect one assistant to several Shopify stores?
Not at the same time. Shopify's authorizing-access page says that with the ChatGPT, Claude or Perplexity integration you can connect one store at a time, even if your stores are in the same organization. The action table on each connector page includes switching to another store you own, so multi-store owners work store by store rather than across stores at once.

What is the difference between these connectors and Sidekick?
Sidekick is the AI assistant inside your Shopify admin; the ChatGPT, Claude and Perplexity connectors work from inside those chat tools on a store you own. Each connector page says the plugin or connector can handle some tasks but doesn't replace your Shopify admin or Sidekick; only the ChatGPT and Claude pages add that it can help you start a store.

Can the Perplexity connector build a store?
No. Shopify's page for the Perplexity connector says it manages a store you already own, so you need a Shopify store before you connect it. Responses in Perplexity are text only, and for that reason you can't generate a storefront preview, claim a new store, or browse sample products from Perplexity; Shopify points you to the ChatGPT plugin or the Claude connector for that.

Can I see a log of what the tool changed, or undo it?
Not through Shopify, as far as its pages go: none of the six Help Center pages in the connecting-AI-tools section read on September 14, 2026 describes a change log or an undo for a connected tool's actions. What they do say is that you're responsible for any incorrect change, that monitoring your store is your duty, and that issues with the tool itself go to OpenAI, Anthropic or Perplexity AI.

How do I reduce what a connected AI tool can access?
By uninstalling and reconnecting. Shopify's authorizing-access page says that to decrease the data access scope after you approve it, you have to uninstall the integration; there is no lower-the-scope setting. The other control is the staff account the tool acts through, since users who interact with the AI tool are limited by their own user permissions.

Does a store created from a ChatGPT or Claude preview get a free trial?
Yes. Shopify's setup page for stores created with an AI tool says a new store created this way starts on a free trial, currently 4 months as of September 2026, and that the trial begins when you claim the store, not when it was created. The tool isn't connected to the new store until you authorize access to it separately.

Is this the same as selling through ChatGPT?
No. These connectors are for you, working on a store you own from inside a chat. Shopify's Help Center section on connecting AI tools says that making your products discoverable to shoppers who use AI assistants is a different topic, covered under agentic storefronts, Selling on ChatGPT and the Agentic plan: the customer-facing side, with its own rules and costs.

Do the connectors work with Shopify Plus or Shopify POS?
Shopify's pages don't say. None of the six Help Center pages in the connecting-AI-tools section read on September 13, 2026 (the three connector pages, considerations, authorizing-access and the index) mentions Shopify Plus or POS in the context of the connectors. If either is central to your store, confirm with Shopify Support before relying on a connector.


Originally published at shopify.ecom-store.pro, where the article also has an interactive safety checklist.

Disclosure: this article is AI-generated.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
axiru profile image
Axiru •

Shopify blocking refunds and order changes even with write access is the clear money line. Catalog edits are one risk class; credits are another.

The gap appears when a store wires its own refund tool outside the connector. Then nothing in chat stops a second credit on the same order.

Where do you put the ceiling so a support agent cannot issue the same refund twice?