DEV Community

Cover image for How I'm Implementing the Idea of the Infinite 1%
Alex Morton
Alex Morton

Posted on

How I'm Implementing the Idea of the Infinite 1%

This post was originally published on May 13, 2020 on my blog.

During this period of lots of at-home-ness, I've been revisiting this podcast that I love sooo much - Unf*ck Your Brain.

One episode that has caught my attention and that has merited multiple listens (as so many of her awesome episodes do to truly absorb the lessons) is her take on what she calls The Infinite 1%.

I'll try to paraphrase it as best as I can. Essentially, it's the idea that the small, goal-oriented actions and efforts we make compound exponentially over time, as opposed to if we didn't start and just stay stuck at step zero.

In other words, there's not much difference between the individuals who give 50% of their energy each day in pursuit of their goals and those who give only 1 to 5% of their energy each day. The real, immense, infinite distance lies between those making even a 1% effort and those who are making 0% effort day after day.

One way I've been implementing the idea of the Infinite 1% in my life recently is the fact that I have a HackerRank coding assessment to do tomorrow. Now, I found out about this test last Friday evening (May 8). From there, I had the option of completing the test anytime between that day and May 14.

I decided to execute the Infinite 1% by choosing to dedicate one solid, focused hour each day to practice coding problem sets on HackerRank. While I know that I won't walk away learning every little thing I need to know, I do know that by dedicating that one little hour each day, I will have given myself six full hours of solid practice - which is 600% more than doing the absolute bare minimum and infinitely more than doing absolutely nothing.

Today's my last day before taking the test (I'll be doing it tomorrow!) and I'll be sitting down to my sixth hour of focused prep sometime this afternoon.

I feel GOOD.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
emma profile image
Emma Goto 🍙

Love it! I try and do the same.

Collapse
 
alexlsalt profile image
Alex Morton

It definitely puts everything in perspective :)