DEV Community

Cover image for My journey to GitLab
Pratik Singh
Pratik Singh

Posted on

My journey to GitLab

In this article, I'll share my interview process at GitLab

GitLab Inc. is an open-core company that operates GitLab, a DevOps software package that can develop, secure, and operate software. GitLab includes a distributed version control based on Git, including features such as access control, bug tracking, software feature requests, task management, and wikis for every project, as well as snippets.

Intro πŸ˜ƒ

I am Pratik Singh, a DevOps and Go developer.
Here is my Twitter and GitHub

kitarp29

I go by the name kitarp29 online.


My story βœ’οΈ

Being in DevOps, GitHub, and GitLab both have been on my bucket list of companies. I was lucky enough to work with GitHub as an extern back in 2022. I was very close to getting into GitLab back in 2022. Why I didn't get into GitLab at that time is a whole other story. But you can understand the obsession grew stronger.

I was happy at my job at Nasdaq as a Senior Software Developer. I started to look for a completely remote job, because of my family conditions. GitLab was one of the companies I started to apply for.

The whole interview process was spread across 2 months.


Interview Process πŸ‘¨πŸ»β€πŸ’»

Before I get started, there is already a resource from GitLab for this: Here

I think this answers most of the questions one might have. I will try to just add my personal experience to it.

Let's dig deeper!

1. Application πŸ“

I am not sure if I found the job application on Linkedin Jobs or from their career page. I follow the red car theory so it's harder to keep track. The form takes barely 5 minutes to fill. But I tried to apply for only relevant jobs.
GitLab career page: Here

2. Screening round 🧐

This was a 30-minute call with the Recruiter. It was a call where we both exchanged basic information about my profile and the job role. I was briefed about the interview process, the compensation, and my role in detail. I don't think it's an elimination unless you have diametrically opposite opinions.

3. Technical Round πŸ€“

This was one of the longest and in my opinion the second-hardest round of the entire process. It is 90 minutes call. After the initial chitchat, I was briefed about the project I'll be working on. I was told about 2 different tasks. I was made aware of the task and asked to go through the docs and give a possible solution on the spot. For each task, I was given ~45 mins. The interviewers were there to answer my questions and nudged me in the right direction. I was not supposed to code within the call but explain my approach.
Post the call, I was assigned both issues and was asked to complete within 3 days. The interviewers were there to help me with the comments on the task.
Luckily I was able to complete one of the tasks flawlessly. But for the other task, I had made the code changes that seemed correct. Unfortunately, it didn't compile on my system. I worked enough on it and the interviewers were satisfied with my work.

4. Manager Round πŸ‘©πŸ»β€πŸ’Ό

My manager is the sweetest interviewer I have ever dealt with. It was a 60-minute call. She made me feel comfortable at the start. After the basic intro, we went deep into my work. She asked me about my work and my internships. Other than the tech questions.
We also started to discuss behavioural questions. After her round of questions, it was my turn to ask questions. I asked about my day-to-day responsibilities, my team, and opportunities. I was confident that I had cleared this round.

5. Tech/Behavioural round 🫑

This is a 60-minute call. This was a call with two of my other teammates. This round was both of tech and behavioural rounds. It was more about how I work with my team. One mistake I kept making was addressing all my answers as "We". As in what we did as a team or handled some situations as a team. Although they were interested in learning more about me. I don't think there is much preparations needed for it, be honest and communicate clearly.
Read on STAR approach to answer such questions.

6. Leadership round πŸ™„

This was the hardest round in my opinion. It was a 60-minute call. The interviewer started with a technical chitchat about my work. He went through my resume and was curious about my projects. After a couple of behavioural and Agile-related questions, the hardest part started!
Yes, it was the system design part. I won't be discussing the questions itself. But man, it was so open-ended questions! I guess it was the first call I was silent for more than 5 minutes thinking of a solution. I was terrified that I would ever clear this round!
Under the circumstances of my life, I was not able to prepare for it well. But I strongly urge you to prepare for it well.

My sister had just given birth to my nephew a few days before this call.

7. HR Round πŸ–ŠοΈ

It was the point I was assured my team wanted to recruit me. Now it was all discussions about the compensation and references.

The night I got this email. I recall I was with my Mom and sister. We all were SO happy! πŸ₯Ή

8. References πŸ«±πŸ»β€πŸ«²πŸΌ

One has to provide three references, at least one being your manager in one of your past companies. This took a week.

Hired! πŸ˜‡


My suggestions

  • Keep applying. I have been applying since 2022. Once I got very close to an offer. But after 2 years I finally got in!
  • Be thorough with your resume.
  • Practice STAR pattern-based questions.
  • Important to be good at System Design questions.
  • Each round is almost 1 to 2 weeks apart, so it's important to lower your anxiety. My suggestion, go on trips in the meantime.

Seattle stories

I traveled to Seattle during this duration

Way too much fun at Wayyanad

My friends and I took a road trip to Wayanad


If you liked this content you can follow me here or on Twitter at kitarp29 for more!

Thanks for reading my article :)

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
codebox124 profile image
Raji Roqeeb Olalekan

Cool